We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night as went to see Coldplay at the Ethihad Stadium. The hotel is easy to find from Manchester piccaddilly train station and is on a busy main road. Our room was towards the rear of hotel so its alot quieter on that side. Quick check in. Room was lovely, clean, tidy, modern. The bathroom was fab. The shower is big enough for 2 people. Breakfast was nice. Very busy after 9am (but to be expected). Cereals, fruits, sausages, scrambled egg, beans, coissantts. Nice selection. I would definately recommend here to stay. Great location Deansgate being a 5 minute walk away

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of hotel as its very busy on a night time. We stayed in room 704. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope that other travellers will find it useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    297
    132
    31
    26
See reviews for
95
191
54
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We booked this hotel on a whim via Late Rooms, and I have to say I'm really pleasantly surprised. Beds are really comfy, showers are decent, rooms are nicely finished, check-in is hassle-free and overall I think it's excellent value for money. It's also incredibly central, so ideal for a business trip, city day out, or a concert, as we booked for.

The only thing I'd mention is that when we arrived back at the hotel after our night out (at around three AM – slap my wrist), an obviously sozzled chap had taken it upon himself to hang out by the lifts and take the mickey out of the visitors, which was a bit of a downer. The security guard seemed to be trying to get rid of him, but he still got in a few obnoxious jabs.

Obviously I have no idea if he was a patron of the hotel or not, or indeed how long he'd been hanging round the lobby, but I did find this quite intimidating - perhaps the security staff could be more assertive in moving on anyone worse for wear.

Other than that, though, absolutely no complaints, would stay again & would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

It is with some disapointment that you encountered the guest when you arrived back at the hotel. It can be difficult for security to find the correct level of force on guests, however, with us having a presence at the front door throughout the day and night, thankfully, episodes like this are very far and few between.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel with my partner last October when we were in town to see a concert. we decided just to stay at this hotel as the location was central to where we had to be and also it was cheap.

The Hotel was perfectly clean and quite modern. we stayed in a corner room on quite a high floor which had a great view.

Service was good and staff were happy to help in anyway possible.

You get what you pay for in Hotels but I have to say this hotel did exactly the job and we couldnt fault it in any way. I imagine a lot of business men & women stay here when in town but if I was ever back in Manchester I wouldnt hesitate to stay here for business or leisure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad that we were able to meet yopu expectations and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, England
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I use the Holiday Inn Express chain quite a lot for business. The room I had on the 8th floor was the best I've ever had in this chain. Great finishes, spotlessly clean and a huge shower. Also quiet air con and a grat TV picture.
Not sure how the bed would have been with two people as I think it might be a little soft.
Great central location for Manchester.
I also had reason to call them after my visit as I thought I'd left something in the room ( I hadn't! - sorry for the trouble). They immediately went to the room ro check and phoned me back within 10 mimutes as promised - Excellent service!
Thanks

Room Tip: A busy part of the City so I guess the higher the better for minimising external noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and kind words. It is nice to see that our staff are reacting quickly to requests and acting on them within an agreed time limit.

Our matresses are turned on a regular basis and are less than 2 years old, however, I have taken on board your comments and will look into their condition as a matter of urgency.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Good quality hotel in a central location, rooms very clean and well laid out. Breakfast is included with this hotel however it’s pretty basic but does the job. My train home was not until late that day and asked to store my luggage and was shocked to be told it was £3 per item, maybe it’s just me but this is the first time I’ve heard of this and feel like an international brand such as Holiday Inn it just should be done as part of a service especially as the published rate is around £150 per night. My tip to avoid this price is find one of the many council run free museums. They all have lockers to store your stuff and you get your £1 back after as well, just get there before closing time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

I can confirm that, due to customer feedback, we have now removed the £3 charge for left luggage. Due to the limited space that the hotel has for stored luggage we introduced the charge to help limit the amount of luggage left with us. As we are a city centre hotel this can amount to a large amount, especially at weekends. However, please do not be put off by this again as we have removed the charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My family and i stayed in this hotel for one night, the hotel is nice to start with, staff are polite. But at night time when we came to go bed, my children slept on a sofa bed and my partner and i slept on a double bed. The double bed was the worse bed i have ever slept in, i woke up 3 or 4 times as i couldnt get comfy. The mattress was extremely soft it was like lying on cotton wool and we also had no space between us as we rolled together. We were only given 1 pillow each to sleep with and had to use a sofa cushion as an extra pillow. Room was extremely small even more so due to the sofa bed being pulled out. Bathroom was lovely and clean.
In the morning for breakfast we had a shock to find the reception, bar and breakfast area are all in a line and very small proximity. the area for breakfast seating is extremely cramped and some seating is way too close to the breakfast counter, breakfast overall was not too bad, very simple but also the breakfast area in which you get your food is too cramped for more than a few people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

Our mattresses our less than 2 years old and are turned on a regular basis. It is a suprise that you had this experience. We have 4 pillows in each room and extra pillows are available at reception on request. However, I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention.

We do recognise that our breakfast area has limited space and do encourage guests to stagger the time that they come down to breakfast on notices in the lift. This then allows a little extra room for guests to manoeuvre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Perfect for a weekend break, rooms are top class and breakfast is HI Express spec. Please note parking is in NCP on Chester Street/Road so add 10 pound per night for that. Overall very lively area and plenty to do. Staff were helpful and friendly. You won't be bored that's for sure.

Travelers tip: get a room on the highest floor available that way you won't hear any noise.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Than you for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind words.

Hopefully other travellers will find this helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Manchester
#38 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotel.de, Priceline, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.