We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Frog and Bucket

The Frog and Bucket
102 Oldham Street, Manchester M4 1LJ, England (Manchester City Centre)
+44 161 236 9805
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 166 nightlife in Manchester
Type: Comedy Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Manchester’s original and longest running Alternative Comedy Venue, showcasing the very best in national and international comedy Thursday through Saturday. The Frog and Bucket prides itself in developing some of the best comic talents on the circuit. Our amateur night is the most important part of the Frog calendar as it gives us chance to nurture the stars of the future. Monday nights are home to our very own new act competition, Beat The Frog. Manchester’s only weekly new act competition has seen the likes of Jason Manford and Sarah Millican hone their craft on the Frog Stage inspiring new acts to battle it out in front of our card holding audience.The Frog and Bucket has been an integral part of the Manchester Comedy Scene since its humble beginnings in a small city centre pub in 1993. Nowadays The Frog and Bucket boasts sold out shows with the world’s finest acts. All the while still retaining its alternative heritage and its unique reputation for nurturing new talent that has meant it has been instrumental in launching the careers of acts such as Peter Kay, Johnny Vegas and Dave Gorman to name but a few.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times for special occasions and the latest visit was because we got half price tickets through Wowcher for a Thursday night! Staff are friendly and show you to your table. Show was really funny but the drinks are a bit expensive...it was a school night so we stuck to soft drinks and it was £5 for 2! Good night though!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    16
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable... But at a price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my night here. Comedy was great. 3 acts in total, each one different however equally as entertaining. Only downside was the price. Was about £17 per person and not cheap when inside. Just over £9 for a pint and a vodka and coke. Would recommend but as a pay day treat every now and then.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awful place, rude staff, rubbish food, over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Awful place, like a prison inside. Very rude door staff and manager. Very over priced. Save your money and go elsewhere

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went on a Monday night(Beat The Frog Night £3 on the door entry).What a great evening. Not all the Comedians were to my liking but most were.To cap the night off a mystery guest turned up to try out some of his new material- Jack Whitehall who did 30 minutes or so.Obviously the night is dependent on the Comedians and we had a cracker(To quote another Comedian) A Bottle of wine £8.95

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Preferred the comedy store”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had high hopes for the frog and bucket as it has a similar reputation to the comedy store. I enjoyed the decor and the seating plan as I didn't have to worry about somebody taller blocking my way in front. The acts were quite average as some jokes I didn't find very funny (maybe because it was a Thursday night?). However, I noticed that celebrity guests come visit so would like to re visit the frog and bucket for that reason. Also, I really liked the food choices on the menu and they looked really good when I looked over the people sitting next to us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frog and Bucket also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Frog and Bucket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frog and Bucket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Frog and Bucket to your Saves list