We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Comedy Store

The Comedy Store
Arches 3 & 4 Whitworth Street West | Deansgate Locks, Manchester M1 5LH, England
0161 839 9595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 178 Nightlife in Manchester
Type: Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Comedy Store Manchester offers a unique blend of stand up comedy, fine dining and music. Every week from Thursday through to Sunday the best comedians on the circuit take to the stage. We also have a different comedy night every Sunday to round off the weekend.
Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Went to the Comedy Store in Deansgate Locks with my brother the other weekend and really enjoyed it. Although I wasn't overly fussed on the actually comedy acts, as they weren't to my taste, I could appreciate that the rest of the audience were laughing quite a lot and enjoying it. The atmosphere was great, and the staff were quick and helpful. I'd definitely go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    208
    37
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor compare best act”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Having organised a hen night for 14 people we expected this to be the start of a good night!!! The four acts were not funny and good job for the compare!!!! Disappointed is the word!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great laugh and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Liked the prebooking in for food and tickets. Not sure some of the jokes were that asteful, but hey it was live comedy!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed it but would never book & pay extra for front”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

row seats again! I was worried that we wouldn't get in or find anywhere to sit together so booked the front row seats...very bad idea because you are in the firing line for any gags about the audience! We got off quite lightly but it did put me on edge!!. A couple of the comedians were very good but one wasn't remotely funny. The compare is quick witted and sharp I'm not sure it's necessary to swear that much or be quite so rude to the audience. I would definitely go back but check out which comedians were on first.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great intimate venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Cracking night out on Deansgate Locks with plenty of bars to move onto afterwards. Well worth a visit with a decent group of friends for a different night out from the norm.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Comedy Store also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Comedy Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Comedy Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.