We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Try Thai

Try Thai
Upper G/F 52-54 Faulkner Street, Manchester M1 4FH, England
0161 228 1822
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Try Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fantastic bar on the upper ground floor with the beautiful Thai restaurant on the first floor.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to Try Thai and it was even better than before, which we didn't think possible!! Our server, who's name was 'Trainee', was wonderful, very attentive. The food was incredible, great portion sizes, very tasty and such great prices! Can't recommend Try Thai enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    281
    84
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The food here was delicious and from what i could taste authentic too. I had a spicy salad for start an chicken cashed nut for main. My only criticism was that the main was a bit greasy but otherwise nice. We didn't get pure drinks to the table until the food came out which i thought a little odd. Great choice of food and drink on the menu but no description of what is in the cocktails. The waiters/waitresses seemed a bit distant or nervous it would have been nice to see them a bit more. Would like to visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had been looking around China Town for a nice place to eat and I am so gald we chose to wait for a table to be able to eat here as had a great meal and would definatley go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Visited Try Thai on a busy Saturday evening. We were late by half an hour due to manic traffic in the city centre. When we finally arrived, the staff were very accommodating and took us to our seats in the upstairs restaurant.
We started with a cocktail. I had the strawberry daquiri which was very fruity and full of fresh strawberries. Food wise, we both ordered the Sunflower banquet at £20 a head. The service was quick and we were impressed with the amount of food we got for £20 each. The starter was delicious, especially the crispy noodles. For main, 3 good portions of chicken, beef and belly pork dishes arrived to the table. My favorite dish was the stir fry chilli paste and sweet basil belly pork. The flavours were amazing! After devouring all dishes, we had the choice of either coffee or ice cream for desert. Naturally, we went for the ice cream and had a scoop of mango and a scoop of mint choc chip. The mango ice cream was by far the best mango ice cream we had ever tasted, it was delicious!
Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant - fantastic food and great service - will definitely be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Beautiful food with real spice, Try Thai never fails to impress. The special early dinner is great value. Service was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Try Thai also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Try Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Try Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.