We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sassy Indian food in a confident, modern restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zouk Teabar & Grill

Zouk Teabar & Grill
Unit 5 Quadrangle | Chester Street, Manchester M1 5QS, England (Manchester City Centre)
+44 161 233 1090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #564 of 1,640 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $8 - $48
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manchester City Centre
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sassy Indian food in a confident, modern restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 NEW

If you like your Indian food modern, well-presented and imaginatively cooked then this sassy Indian eaterie just off Oxford Road (near the Old BBC) is the place to head.

Occupying a large corner site on the fringes of the city centre, this modern double height ceilinged restaurant feels very cosmopolitan and chic with a neat runway of tables for two down one side, a mezzanine floor above its busy kitchen and clusters of cosy banquette type seating for larger groups. Airy, modern and contemporary, this is designer Indian fare but not necessarily with a designer Indian price tag. I’ve paid more for places with much less style and far less competent cooking. It’s not cheap either – it’s just feels like a quality restaurant with a fair tariff for quality food.

We turned up early one Saturday evening for starters and a main course. Service was swift, efficient and exemplary with our waiter taking time to talk through the menu and the specials. For those who like the traditional staples of an Indian menu Zouk does these down to a tee, albeit with its own creative variation. However, this is the kind of place worth venturing off piste with their daily specials which show the extent of their cuisine.

All the usual things you expect from a good Indian restaurant are delivered with aplomb and a sense of theatre. The popadums are light and airy, the chutneys are fresh and aromatic and the pilau rice light and fluffy. My main course, their version of a Madras, was beautifully cooked with tender pieces of chicken in a sauce that took its heat as much from its herbs and vegetables as spices. Perfection.

We went when the place was just getting busy and were served promptly so I suspect when it gets busy you might have to wait. I’m guessing it has around 100+ covers.

However, the staff are supremely professional and very hospitable – and swift on their feet too.
By the way, there’s also an outside area under a canopy for those who want alfresco dining and the chance to smoke on a Shisha pipe. Every taste catered for in a very confident and professionally run restaurant. Great for people watching too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    140
    100
    47
    38
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Icesun
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Attentive service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We visited after having a wander round the Imperial War museum at Salford Quay.Easily found near the palace theatre.Bright and airy with a great vibe of different cultures.We got a roung starter but this was quickly fixed and we got the wrong one free to sample.Main courses were nice and hot when arrived.The waiters were numerous and very friendly.Nice restaurant and would recommend

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Couldn't cope with a large group”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We pre-booked a large (20+) group from work. I know that's a lot of people, but this is a large place that should be able to cope. The starters took 40 mins and the mains arrived about 1 hour and 50 minutes from when we arrived. Our organiser went to ask the duty manager who blamed it on us (for taking too long), his waiting staff, and not getting our pre-order email. A bit feeble for a professional, especially as we were told they wouldn't take the booking without the order.

The food when it came was good, but not excellent. The nans were very good.

The upstairs seating is noisy, especially with the music, and try not to sit under an air-conditioning vent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

really good quality food, service was second to none as we called in early evening prior to a trip to the comedy store, would recommend it to any lover of Asian food, the lamb nihari is an absolute triumph

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Honestly I cannot imagine anyone having either bad food or bad service at Zouk. I have been quite a few times over the years, and the reason I always return is this: great food and great service. We were a party of ten, and everyone was really happy with the food, including a few foodies and picky people! The service was great too. I really think the food here is special - clever, interesting and original dishes, alongside familiar curry favourites, so there really is something for everyone. Thanks to the team there for a fantastic evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zouk Teabar & Grill also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Zouk Teabar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zouk Teabar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.