We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value - bring a healthy appetite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kro - Old Abbey Inn

Kro - Old Abbey Inn
61 Pencroft Way, Manchester M15 6AY, England (Chorlton)
0161 232 9796
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #970 of 1,764 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Bar
Neighborhood: Chorlton
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chorlton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing value - bring a healthy appetite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Old Abbey Inn is now open Monday to Friday, 11.30am - 2.30pm and hopefully they can make this work better than Kro, who used to open at odd times but never seemed to get many people in. The couple of occasions I've visited so far, it's been quite busy but we've managed to get a table, no problem, and the staff couldn't be more friendly or efficient.

The menu contains burgers (beef, chicken or the loco burger which is both combined!), fish & chips, chilli, jamaican curry, stir fry (choice of ingredients), plated salads and sandwiches, plus a few specials and plenty more besides. Most items are around the five quid mark (sandwiches and omelettes are cheaper), but for this you get fresh ingredients (none of that processed chicken rubbish - the chicken burger is breadcrumbed chicken breast and looks handmade), and a gigantic portion at that. I had fish & chips today, but sadly failed to finish it - and that was their "standard" size portion - they do a large portion too!

They also do take-aways, and a loyalty scheme - just ask! I hope these guys are here to stay!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“old abbey inn manchester science park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Now no longer part of the Kro empire and all the better for that. Home cooked food to order at very reasonable prices. Huge portions and friendly staff, only opens for lunches at present which is a bit disappointing and sadly only draft lager on tap although a reasonable bottle selection.
Parking can be a bit hit and miss but on the whole well worth a visit especially if the jamaican chicken curry is on the specials.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Cheap and Cheerful. Lots to try and drink till you are content. Definitely worth visiting.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Headless chickens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

Been twice as hired out for birthdays. Very expensive. Only 1 person serving so getting pint can take a good half hour! Should be better. Frustrating.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Civilised, but unpretentious, and tasty, but good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Took my student son here for lunch. He had a burger and chips. I had the chicken fajitas. Both cost £4.95. Mine arrived on a sizzling cast iron dish with lots of super-fresh peppers. It was so tasty, that when I visited Manchester again, we went back and had exactly the same things. The pub is smallish with tall ceiling and dark red painted walls, peeling in places. The atmosphere was friendly, unpretentious and quiet. We sat at a large table to watch our car parked (illegally) in the science park car park opposite as there is no convenient legal parking. The staff were very friendly. I felt it was the perfect place to take your student as it is civilised, but unpretentious, and tasty, but good value!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kro - Old Abbey Inn also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Kro - Old Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kro - Old Abbey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.