We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hit the spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak and Lobster at Alto

Steak and Lobster at Alto
Free Trade Hall, Peter Street | Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, Manchester M2 5GP, England
+44 161 835 8903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #405 of 1,665 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Offering an exciting dining concept, Steak & Lobster Manchester has forgone a menu brimming with choice to offer just 2 dishes: a 10oz rib eye steak or a whole lobster. Enjoy views through the floor-to-ceiling windows and soak up the informal, understated atmosphere whilst appreciating the simplicity and speed of this fresh and original concept.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I liked the fact that it was casual dining. Very tasty but came with few chips, however there was no bother at all in ordering extra portions and no charge for same.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at Steak & Lobster @ ALTO, It would be great to welcome you back one day soon... @RBEHotels #SandLAlto Connect with us on Twitter, Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    109
    78
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“it was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

had dinner there last week.It was so good we had a steak, grilled lobster and a steamed lobster between two of us, good wine list, good staff excellent value

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, It is great to hear and I will share with the team, Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton,Manchester
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“For £15 each we all want to go again and take our partners ......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A belated team Chrstmas do - 7 ladies on a night out and we chose well- we knew it was steak or lobster, both were excellent, the salad and chips kept on coming and they were lovely as well. We all enjoyed the sweets, the staff were deightful, the surroundings are modern and pleasant. For £15 each we all want to go again and take our partners for perfectly cooked steaks or tasty lobster, endless salad & chips as promised

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit With Group Of Friends - Special Occasion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited as 4 sets of couples celebrating my partner's 50th birthday (no reference to this by the staff on the night). Despite my calling the hotel 3 times before our visit, we were very disappointed and would have been so even if it had not been a special occasion.
We were isolated on the terrace - couldn't see anyone or join in with the atmosphere - a big mistake, we felt.
No starters (as I had discovered by calling them), so it was straight into the main courses.
The lobsters were smallish and rather rubbery. 2 steaks were mis-served (we soon swapped them over) and another had to be sent back to be re-cooked. No serving staff to be seen after that, even though I had been assured that fries and salad was unlimited. I eventually got up and sought out a waitress, who took our order for some more sides - these did not arrive even 30 minutes later, and everyone finished their meals feeling that something was badly lacking in atmosphere, service and food.
When we paid, we complained about the lack of service. We received an apology and a refund of the service charge (which had automatically been added to the bill).
Not a cheap night, when adding in the cost of our minibus there and back. Wine was passable, but we didn't linger as we knew we would get better service back home - birthday cake, coffee and liqueurs were unlimited at my house and served with good music and smiles all round.
The hotel itself seemed to be first class (lovely surroundings and loos) but we won't be dining at Alto again, not even if it is free!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Amazing value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went here with a friend for dinner last week, and it was so good. £15 for a whole baby lobster, with unlimited fries and salad - you can't say fairer than that. We had two portions of fries and salad each and were absolutely stuffed! All the food was absolutely delicious and the staff were very attentive - they came over several times to ask if we needed anything. My only complaint is that the drinks are quite expensive, but I suppose that's to be expected in a hotel restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Steak & Lobster experience, We do look forward to welcoming you back. @RBEHotels #SandLAlto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak and Lobster at Alto also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak and Lobster at Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak and Lobster at Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.