We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak and Lobster at Alto

Steak and Lobster at Alto
Free Trade Hall, Peter Street | Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, Manchester M2 5GP, England
+44 161 835 8903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #419 of 1,685 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Offering an exciting dining concept, Steak & Lobster Manchester has forgone a menu brimming with choice to offer just 2 dishes: a 10oz rib eye steak or a whole lobster. Enjoy views through the floor-to-ceiling windows and soak up the informal, understated atmosphere whilst appreciating the simplicity and speed of this fresh and original concept.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

very good service, open until 10.30 so good for after show meal. Meal was as you would expect -clue in name, not the best steak and lobster ever had, but service and convienience worth while

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Steak & Lobster after the show, we hope to welcome you back again if you are ever coming to see another show in town. Opus One has also now started serving a "Chefs theatre before the theatre" which is our Pre-show menu from 17:30 and it only £20 for 2 courses and a drink!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    116
    84
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
“A bit contrived”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I really feel that from reading the last few reviews I really agree with JJWAE and its a bit contrived that the last review in response is so obviously a staff member from the hotel - constructive criticism is something of an opportunity for businesses.

Went there with a colleague myself and had a nice time but tables really smaller for the amount of plates and condiments and the lobster was watery and weird but steak good but not cooked by how we asked. Basically I'm being quite nice but only because Manchester doesn't have a huge restaurant following, and no, I don't think that Jamie's counts, that's a bumped up chain, and by the way I am here very often as I have family here.

Love the Hotel (just in case that overly defensive staff member gets on one) but Steak and Lobster is yet to impress

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion, we value all of the feedback and do really aim to please everyone and build the reputation. We are constantly looking for new ways to enhance the concept and experience at Steak & Lobster @ ALTO. I can personally ensure you that the previous review was not a member of the hotel staff and was infact a guest, Thank you once again for your feedback, Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Idea - Terrible Execution”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I hate to write this review because it is a excellent idea and cheap.

But I am sorry to say cheap doesn't mean value...

OK let's break it down:

Staff where fine - but in a five star hotel you would hope so...
Room is OK - it's a breakfast room so again what can you say...
So the food...

The lobster aka prawn tail was utterly tasteless. I mean it was only texture - what ever highly inventive cooking practice was utilised to leech this king crustacean's sweet flavour I want to know; is a miracle of modern science. I cracked into the claw and what burst forth was torrent of bilge water, once this had cleared what was left was a sorry withered claw, muddy tasting with extreme over cooking.

The fries: limp and pale - I sent them back, the second batch were worse arrrhhh. My god they can't even cook fries. Even Ronald and the blooming Hamburglar can get this one right!

The salad was totally under dressed and weirdly watery and crushed into a tiny pot. I asked for some dressing on the side and got a mix of truffle oil and balsamic - is this a sick joke?

Finally the steak - fine I guess if you haven't had really good stuff in the past. Oh but mine was totally over cooked so ruined. Plus the knifes are so blunt you just end up pushing your steak around your plate like at idiot.

In conclusion I am aghast that if a place only does two things why does it do them so extremely badly?

Looking at the other reviews you may think I am too picky - but no - the French place on King
Street with the long name and the weird service does steak and salad perfectly every time.

Anyway it's a shame because Manchester deserves some of that 'do one thing brilliantly for a low price' thing that London and New York et al has but it is not here.

Good for people who have never been out of the bottle neck!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“goooood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

i made a reservation online and i have to say i was a little worried because i don't trust a lot of things on the internet confirmation of my booking came immediately which made my day. i loved the steak and the beverages i reccomend this restaurant to every one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Simply a choice of steak or lobster served with fries and salad, both are unlimited, with a choice of 3 desserts all for £15. Great value in one of Manchester's premier hotels. Highly recommend, good atmosphere and friendly staff. Will definitely be returning.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I will pass your comments on to my team, I am glad that you enjoyed their friendly service and that you like the concept. We look forward to welcoming you back #SandLalto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak and Lobster at Alto also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak and Lobster at Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak and Lobster at Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.