We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steak and Lobster at Alto

Steak and Lobster at Alto
Free Trade Hall, Peter Street | Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, Manchester M2 5GP, England (Manchester City Centre)
+44 161 835 8903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #298 of 1,648 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manchester City Centre
Description: Offering an exciting dining concept, Steak & Lobster Manchester has forgone a menu brimming with choice to offer just 2 dishes: a 10oz rib eye steak or a whole lobster. Enjoy views through the floor-to-ceiling windows and soak up the informal, understated atmosphere whilst appreciating the simplicity and speed of this fresh and original concept.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Simply a choice of steak or lobster served with fries and salad, both are unlimited, with a choice of 3 desserts all for £15. Great value in one of Manchester's premier hotels. Highly recommend, good atmosphere and friendly staff. Will definitely be returning.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I will pass your comments on to my team, I am glad that you enjoyed their friendly service and that you like the concept. We look forward to welcoming you back #SandLalto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    89
    76
    42
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Where else can you find lobster for £15??!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had seen a review on Evening News and also based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, decided to give it a go. Honestly, where else can you get lobster for £15? We booked online for lunch and the process was simple and we got a confirmation email. Also during a limited period of time there is free dessert - SCORE!! We were the only ones to dine when we arrived, so it was a bit odd with an empty restaurant. There seemed to be people there for drinks, but no one else seemed to be eating! We both got the grilled lobster which came with chips and salad. The chips were thin, well cooked and tasty (though perhaps a tad salty) and the salad was beautifully dressed - with sunflower seeds and croutons. The lobster came with different implements to get into it - so we let the fun begin! The lobster was grilled with garlic butter, but couldn't really taste this and the meat on the body itself was a little rubbery. However the meat from the claws was soft and tasty. We were offered more chips and salad which was a bonus! For the free dessert, we ordered Knickerbocker Glory - melon pieces laden with ice cream and cream on the top. I wasn't a fan of the cream but the ice cream and melon combi was heavenly! £15 for a main and dessert is really good value for money. To be honest we were expecting a catch and for the final bill to have loads of extras added on, but this was not the case. The service was friendly and warm, the atmosphere was lacking a bit as we were the only diners, but it also meant we could make a mess (can't avoid it with the lobster) without being too self-conscious. Also I would say the presentation of the dish is beautiful, but in terms of ease of dining - perhaps chips and salad would be better on side plates rather than in little pots. This is an amazing find and I would love to go back and try the steak and maybe the steamed lobster, not forgetting the desserts - it will be banoffee pie for me the next time!! : ) Check this place out, it's highly recommended!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking note of our previous reviews, there are so many people talking about Steak & Lobster across the city! It is nice to hear about the fun you had eating your lobsters… Knickerbockerglory is my favourite dessert but I do enjoy the chocolate fudge cake too. I like your photos and thank you for highly recommending it, We look forward to you coming back #SandLalto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great place, the £15 does exactly what is says on the tin - very quiet for a Thursday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great offer and sampled both dishes - for £15 with free dessert when booked via their website you cannot go wrong. Ask for more fries if your hungry, they were great!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Surf and Turf… glad you enjoyed Steak & Lobster @ ALTO, come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding. A must!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I made a reservation online and received confirmation of my booking almost immediately. I reserved a table for two, for my boyfriends birthday. He's always wanted to try lobster. I was sceptical of how cheap the meals were when I reserved the table. It was a set menu of steak or lobster and a free dessert, for £15. As a student, I was worried there was some sort of catch. We arrived, and had a brief wait. We were seated, and the atmosphere was lovely. The lights were not too bright, but I could still see him. The waitress seemed concerned that I wanted a really rare steak, but the chef cooked it to perfection and the dressing on the salad was out of this world. My boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed his lobster, and had a really good time. They brought out some surprise cupcakes I took in earlier and the chef wrote Happy Birthday on the plate they served them on. We were really looked after and I would love to thank the staff for their effort. I would highly recommend ALTO to anyone thinking of going, and especially to anyone wanting to try lobster in the Manchester area or visiting.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed you Steak & Lobster experience @ ALTO for a special occasion, there is no catch, it is a simply concept and it continues to grow and we do not have any plans to change it therefore we look forward to welcoming you back, It is great that more and more people are being more adventurous and are going for the Lobster, I love it grilled #SandLalto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

on arrival we where greeted by a lovely waitress who said are table was ready even though we where early but she said no problem if you would like a drink first.I Thought the drinks would have been expensive wrong just a bit more than pub prices.
We sat down to order are food the wife had the lobster and i had a steak both well presented and cooked to perfection medium rare i ask for extra chips no problem.
all in all great service excellent food will definitely go back with friends
thanks to all staff .
Hazi

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hazi, Thank you for this review, it is great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us at Steak & Lobster @ ALTO. If you are on Twitter follow us: @RBEHotels #S&Lalto We all look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak and Lobster at Alto also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak and Lobster at Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak and Lobster at Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.