We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, the £15 does exactly what is says on the tin - very quiet for a Thursday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak and Lobster at Alto

Steak and Lobster at Alto
Free Trade Hall, Peter Street | Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, Manchester M2 5GP, England (Manchester City Centre)
+44 161 835 8903
Website
Update restaurant details
Reserve with toptable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #283 of 1,616 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manchester City Centre
Description: Offering an exciting dining concept, Steak & Lobster Manchester has forgone a menu brimming with choice to offer just 2 dishes: a 10oz rib eye steak or a whole lobster. Enjoy views through the floor-to-ceiling windows and soak up the informal, understated atmosphere whilst appreciating the simplicity and speed of this fresh and original concept.
North West England UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great place, the £15 does exactly what is says on the tin - very quiet for a Thursday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great offer and sampled both dishes - for £15 with free dessert when booked via their website you cannot go wrong. Ask for more fries if your hungry, they were great!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Surf and Turf… glad you enjoyed Steak & Lobster @ ALTO, come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    77
    64
    35
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding. A must!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I made a reservation online and received confirmation of my booking almost immediately. I reserved a table for two, for my boyfriends birthday. He's always wanted to try lobster. I was sceptical of how cheap the meals were when I reserved the table. It was a set menu of steak or lobster and a free dessert, for £15. As a student, I was worried there was some sort of catch. We arrived, and had a brief wait. We were seated, and the atmosphere was lovely. The lights were not too bright, but I could still see him. The waitress seemed concerned that I wanted a really rare steak, but the chef cooked it to perfection and the dressing on the salad was out of this world. My boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed his lobster, and had a really good time. They brought out some surprise cupcakes I took in earlier and the chef wrote Happy Birthday on the plate they served them on. We were really looked after and I would love to thank the staff for their effort. I would highly recommend ALTO to anyone thinking of going, and especially to anyone wanting to try lobster in the Manchester area or visiting.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed you Steak & Lobster experience @ ALTO for a special occasion, there is no catch, it is a simply concept and it continues to grow and we do not have any plans to change it therefore we look forward to welcoming you back, It is great that more and more people are being more adventurous and are going for the Lobster, I love it grilled #SandLalto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

on arrival we where greeted by a lovely waitress who said are table was ready even though we where early but she said no problem if you would like a drink first.I Thought the drinks would have been expensive wrong just a bit more than pub prices.
We sat down to order are food the wife had the lobster and i had a steak both well presented and cooked to perfection medium rare i ask for extra chips no problem.
all in all great service excellent food will definitely go back with friends
thanks to all staff .
Hazi

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hazi, Thank you for this review, it is great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us at Steak & Lobster @ ALTO. If you are on Twitter follow us: @RBEHotels #S&Lalto We all look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked a table for two online during the day time for which I even received a conformation email stating my booking was complete. When I reached the restaurant they didn't have me on the list which was a bit strange but they still got me a table for two straight away so no harm done. The restaurant is very posh looking and was packed out. The staff is friendly and helpful. We ordered two lobsters (one steamed and one grilled) the grilled one tasted slightly better. The lobsters come with a side order of chips and salad. The chips and salad are unlimited so make sure you ask for more if you want some (this however isn't mentioned anywhere on the menu but it is unlimited). We had coke to drink which wasn't too pricey. We didn't get any dessert included but I have read a few places that this was only a Christmas offer so no harm done. Well worth the visit. It's interesting using several different utensils to open up the lobster (which comes cut in half to make it easier for us novices).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Steak & Lobster @ ALTO, next time you visit then I would recommend trying a dessert, come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for his 30th birthday as he has always wanted to try lobster and we were not let down. It was just delicious, although I had the steak, and I have not stopped telling people about this restaurant since we visited. You simply order Lobster steamed or grilled or a 10 oz rib eye steak and have unlimited tasty and crispy fries, and a really delicious salad. I couldn't believe how big my piece of steak was, and didn't even feel cheated sharing quite a bit of it with my partner. The drinks I felt weren't really overpriced, you're in a 5 star restaurant afterall, and the dessert choices, although slightly limited were fab, we had the choc fudge cake, and the banoffee pie, were only 4.95 - very very reasonable indeed. The staff were very friendly and attentive and all in all it was a great dining experience, for a fab price. We will definitely return and tell all our friends to try it also. The only disappointing thing is that it was too dark in there to take a pic (no flash on the cameras!) but the fact that we wanted to take a pic in the first place speaks volumes!!! Also I booked the table online some weeks before and this went very smoothly also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am delighted to read your comments, thank you very much!
We do look forward to welcoming you and your friends back; you should go for the Lobster grilled and The Knickerbockerglory for dessert... My favourite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak and Lobster at Alto also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak and Lobster at Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak and Lobster at Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.