We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steak and Lobster at Alto

Steak and Lobster at Alto
Free Trade Hall, Peter Street | Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, Manchester M2 5GP, England
+44 161 835 8903
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Steak and Lobster at Alto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #331 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Offering an exciting dining concept, Steak & Lobster Manchester has forgone a menu brimming with choice to offer just 2 dishes: a 10oz rib eye steak or a whole lobster. Enjoy views through the floor-to-ceiling windows and soak up the informal, understated atmosphere whilst appreciating the simplicity and speed of this fresh and original concept.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I booked a table for two online during the day time for which I even received a conformation email stating my booking was complete. When I reached the restaurant they didn't have me on the list which was a bit strange but they still got me a table for two straight away so no harm done. The restaurant is very posh looking and was packed out. The staff is friendly and helpful. We ordered two lobsters (one steamed and one grilled) the grilled one tasted slightly better. The lobsters come with a side order of chips and salad. The chips and salad are unlimited so make sure you ask for more if you want some (this however isn't mentioned anywhere on the menu but it is unlimited). We had coke to drink which wasn't too pricey. We didn't get any dessert included but I have read a few places that this was only a Christmas offer so no harm done. Well worth the visit. It's interesting using several different utensils to open up the lobster (which comes cut in half to make it easier for us novices).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Steak & Lobster @ ALTO, next time you visit then I would recommend trying a dessert, come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    86
    56
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for his 30th birthday as he has always wanted to try lobster and we were not let down. It was just delicious, although I had the steak, and I have not stopped telling people about this restaurant since we visited. You simply order Lobster steamed or grilled or a 10 oz rib eye steak and have unlimited tasty and crispy fries, and a really delicious salad. I couldn't believe how big my piece of steak was, and didn't even feel cheated sharing quite a bit of it with my partner. The drinks I felt weren't really overpriced, you're in a 5 star restaurant afterall, and the dessert choices, although slightly limited were fab, we had the choc fudge cake, and the banoffee pie, were only 4.95 - very very reasonable indeed. The staff were very friendly and attentive and all in all it was a great dining experience, for a fab price. We will definitely return and tell all our friends to try it also. The only disappointing thing is that it was too dark in there to take a pic (no flash on the cameras!) but the fact that we wanted to take a pic in the first place speaks volumes!!! Also I booked the table online some weeks before and this went very smoothly also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am delighted to read your comments, thank you very much!
We do look forward to welcoming you and your friends back; you should go for the Lobster grilled and The Knickerbockerglory for dessert... My favourite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Top quality/fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We tried both,lobster and steak.tasty and very delicious.staff members working extremely hard to ensure customers having a pleasant experience,jessica. We were met and greeted by a very friendly and kind gentleman at the entrance,Rob. We had a great night and we ll definitely be back. Thank you, Steven and Lucy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for this great review, We look forward to welcoming you back and I will make sure that your very kind comments are passed on to the team, Ryan Thompson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good but Not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great space and nice to be able to eat in the hotel informally however the offering is very rigid.
Staff are great and the uniforms and approach is really quirky.
Just need a bit more choice e.g steak types

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We had the restaurant to ourselves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

So you would expect no mistakes and there wasn't any !
My wife and I had lunch here yesterday...There is no menu the choice is simple ,,Lobster steamed or grilled or a 10 oz rib eye steak ( 15 quid each ). Both come with fries and green salad and garlic and chive butter . The Rose Pinot Grigio I can highly recommend absolutely gorgeous. My wife ate every bit of her lobster and my steak done medium rare just melted in the mouth. Our waitress brought us extra fries out and there are some lovely resealable glass jars on the table with sauces and mayo in them ( ingenious touch ).They have a small dessert menu and I managed a knickerbocker glory !...very nice but I could not quite finish it off !

We'll be back !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak and Lobster at Alto also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak and Lobster at Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak and Lobster at Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.