We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steak and Lobster at Alto

Steak and Lobster at Alto
Free Trade Hall, Peter Street | Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, Manchester M2 5GP, England
+44 161 835 8903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #397 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $24 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Offering an exciting dining concept, Steak & Lobster Manchester has forgone a menu brimming with choice to offer just 2 dishes: a 10oz rib eye steak or a whole lobster. Enjoy views through the floor-to-ceiling windows and soak up the informal, understated atmosphere whilst appreciating the simplicity and speed of this fresh and original concept.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having read the reviews on here, we decided to try Alto.
As it says on the tin...and umpteen reviews..you choose steak or lobster.
I love lobster but my partner has less adventurous tastes ( he is a Yorkshire man after all!) So he ordered the steak and we shared both dishes.
Not sure how impressed he was when I informed him he would have to man handle the claws to get the meat out! Lol.
The rib eye steak ( cooked medium for the fella~ to my disgust) was absolutely gorgeous.
The lobster..steamed, was lovely too. Yes it's on the small side but really...what do you expect for £15
The fries were hot and very crisp..just the way I like them ,with just the right amount of salt on.
The salad wash fresh bistro style with a hint of dressing, again very nice
Staff were wonderful and very attentive, asking not once but twice if we would like refills on the fries and salad.
I personally enjoyed the atmosphere...lower lighting was nice but the music was a little eclectic. This did not detract from the experience though.
The other diners were a great mix too, from couples young and old, to familys with children.

I will be going back again soon.
Great job Alto.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, It is great to hear that you both enjoyed your Steak and Lobster experience @ ALTO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    101
    75
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Really good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The menu is of course very simple so you don't need to spend long choosing. The steak is very good. You can have as many chips as you want, and extra salad, and whilst the room isn't the best space for a restaurant, this is a useful spot, particularly for a lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for this review, I am happy to hear that you think it is great value and perfect for lunch, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton Derbyshire in the High Peak Forest
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We dined here for our anniversary , I had the lobster , "served warm"......my partner had the steak, that was ok. The wine shot the price up........there are other fish restaurants in manchester I will visit before returning to ALTO

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food but not sure whether we were in a pub or a disco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went for a meal today with friends. The food was excellent and cooked to perfection service was ok but could have been better. The let down for us was that the restaurant appeared to be a cross between a pub and a disco with football at one end and loud disco music at the other people where jumping up shouting and cheering as their team scored not what you expect when eating we told the restaurants had gone through a refurb which i have to say not for the better we then moved to the bar in opus and ordered a floater coffee this came in a normsl tea cup not what gou expect the bar and tables littered with dirty pots having said this the food was good value for money if you dont mind eating in a pub

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, we are constantly looking for feedback so we are very thankful and would hope that you return to Steak & Lobster @ Alto soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groenekan, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great concept - great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Situated in the Radisson Edwardian, the location gives the place a headstart. I found others in my group to be suspicious, can this kind of place really offer Lobster or Steak for this price? Yes they can and they DO! Can't miss it, nice place, well set and decorated and food is spot on!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for the review! I am glad that you have enjoyed your experience and that we have got the pricing right. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak and Lobster at Alto also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak and Lobster at Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak and Lobster at Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.