We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great value, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steak and Lobster at Alto

Steak and Lobster at Alto
Free Trade Hall, Peter Street | Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester, Manchester M2 5GP, England
+44 161 835 8903
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Steak and Lobster at Alto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 1,715 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Offering an exciting dining concept, Steak & Lobster Manchester has forgone a menu brimming with choice to offer just 2 dishes: a 10oz rib eye steak or a whole lobster. Enjoy views through the floor-to-ceiling windows and soak up the informal, understated atmosphere whilst appreciating the simplicity and speed of this fresh and original concept.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food, great value, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a very enjoyable visit to Alto recently.

As you will probably know there are only 2 choices - you have either rib eye steak or whole lobster. Both served with a green salad and fries.

There were 3 in my group and we all chose lobster. You could have it steamed or grilled. The presentation is lovely, really gorgeous plates. The lobster was very well cooked and tasted fantastic. Surprisingly, the green salad was absolutely delicious!! Both the fries and salads were replenished at no extra charge which was a lovely surprise.

Of course, lobster, even a whole one, is never going to be the most filling meal. But its absolutely delicious and worth ordering here as you won't find it at this price anywhere else! Besides, with 2 rounds of fries you won't exactly go hungry! Just don't have unrealistic expectations about how much flesh can actually be in a lobster shell.

There were 3 desserts on offer all for a very very reasonable price. The knickerbocker glory was amazing! So tasty, especially the raspberry cream element.

When I called up to reserve the table I was asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. It was in fact one of our birthdays. It was a lovely surprise for him to be served a complementary chocolate brownie complete with candle!

The service was great all night in fact. Really attentive and incredibly friendly. When we asked to move tables (simply because we changed our mind) our waitress was very obliging and made us feel like it was no trouble. She was actually funny and cracked a few jokes which was fantastic and matched our humour! English clearly wasn't even her first language!

We visited on a saturday night and the place was busy enough to create a bit of atmosphere. I read a review where the author complained about the height of the chairs compared with the booth seating at the opposite side of the table. I can honestly say we didn't notice at all.

All in all I have no complaints at all about Steak and Lobster at Alto. We had a great night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review, I am very pleased to hear that you al enjoyed the Steak & Lobster experience, We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    86
    56
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunchtime Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We visited Manchester on a Saturday as we were attending a concert in the evening.
We chose Alto as I love lobster and my partner steak ! Also the special offer of £15 per head with unlimited fries and salad caught our eye.
The style and ambience of the hotel and restaurant was very impressive and the staff were professional and welcoming.
Our waitress was knowledgeable and the food was great. My grilled lobster was lovely and my partners steak also cooked to order (well done ,not always the case !) We had at least two refills of fries and salad and the knickerbocker glory and the cheese board were also delicious. The wine we chose was a Malbec and at around £20 it was a bargain.
All in all a great place to spend the afternoon (especially with England v New Zealand on the television in the bar !)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for this review, it is great that you like the style and ambience of the restaurant and of the hotel. Thank you for recognising the level of service that we pride ourselves upon. We all do look forward to welcoming you back to the Free Trade Hall and Steak & Lobster @ ALTO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a no brainer, just do it! Quick simple and flawless but poplar so check before you head out to avoid waiting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for this great review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the style of service. The restaurant is large and we try to accommodate everyone and keep waiting time to a minimum. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The ribeye steak was a good piece of meat cooked well. The lobster was also tasty but perhaps not the largest. Go for the steak if hungry! The fries and salad were also very nice and replenished for free. Overall this is somewhere you would go if you wanted some good food but were in a hurry. You'd probably go elsewhere for a special occasion meal though. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak and Lobster at Alto, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the Steak. Have you tried our Opus One restaurant for a more formal setting – this would suit any special occasion. It is fantastic to hear you will be back, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very good food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

You have only two choices: lobster a d chips or steak and chips. That's it, no starters, no sides. The lobster comes steamed or grilled, cut in half and served with thin French fries, a small green salad in a beautiful dressing and a a claw shaped device for cracking open the lobster's claw. The meat was juicy and meaty. Very good.
The steak was well cooked and came also with fries and salad. Nice that the meal comes with tomato sauce, mustard and mayonnaise without having to ask. Both meals are £15 each. Bargain!
There were 4 desserts on offer. I had a knickerbocker glory which was a magnificent pile if fruit, ice cream and raspberry cream. Magnificent.
The service was ok, not very attentive but no real problems. Alto is the hotel's second restaurant and I imagine it could be quite quiet on a weeknight. On a Friday night it was busy enough and had a good atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak and Lobster at Alto also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak and Lobster at Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steak and Lobster at Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.