We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Iguanas - Deansgate

Las Iguanas - Deansgate
84 Deansgate, Manchester M3 2ER, England
+44 161 819 2606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 1,764 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Brazilian, Latin, Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went on Saturday the 3rd of August having left it late to book with a quick look on Trip Advisor for Spanish Food. They squeezed us in on a busy night.. I live out of the UK and I guess I'm not up to date on the latest restaurants and wasn't aware this was a chain.. Also on arrival we discovered it was South American fusion rather than Spanish so we were on our back foot so to speak. The restaurant Staff were very friendly and efficient particularly the lady waiting on our table. We order loads of Tapas after a couple of beers that made us even hungrier and I have to say it was absolutely delicious especially the Pasties with cranberry salsa and the meatballs.. Would and will return…

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    110
    38
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Much better than your usual chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was a bit dubious when my wife first told me how good Las Iguanas was after she had been to a different one, because chains tend to be poorer quality than independent restaurants - Chiquito's, TGIs etc all fall foul of this - asthey aim to generally please the masses rather than look for creativity.

However, we did end up going one weekend - and I have been back a few times since. It was absolutely heaving, which was not a surprise for Deansgate on a weekend, but we were seated very quickly. The staff have always been very friendly, attentive, and knowledgable of the menus. The drinks selection is great, and the food is amazingly good. I am still working my way through the Brazilian specials section (not sure why anyone would have a fajita if they went), as recommended by the staff - and with good reason. The Extraordinary XimXim is most definitely worth a try.

Very good value for money (especially if you go on a weekday with a Tastecard), and I will definitely be going back, probably quite soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Looking outside at the building I wasnt sure whether to go in or not. However once inside I was shocked at how nicely decorated and clean it was. The food was excellent, my choice was from the mexican section and it was the best I have ever had. The lunch menu is great value. It is very child friendly with highchairs, nappy changing and a great healthy childrens menu. I will most certainly be visiting again and look forward to trying other items from the menu!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“strongly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

it was my first visit to this restaurant and one of the best choices i ve ever done in Manchester. We were very welcomed by the manager of the restaurant who accompanied us in our table. The atmosphere was great with a Brazilian character. surprisingly the manger come over again while we were thinking what to order. He was very kind helpful and very friendly. His proposals for food and drinks were excellent and delicious in the same time. His funny character fitted in this restaurant environment and made our stay very special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food - Not so great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I love the food here,but I'm always disappointed by the staff. It's not that they aren't attentive,I just find some of them miserable and are uninterested in the customer. Would visit more if felt more welcomed! Best place in Manchester for Nacho's!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasIguanasHQ, Owner at Las Iguanas - Deansgate, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Great to hear you love our Nachos! I'll pass on your feedback about our team and you'll hopefully find them all smiles on your next visit! Lucy-Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas - Deansgate also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Iguanas - Deansgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.