We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manchester Museum

The Manchester Museum
Oxford Road | The University of Manchester, Manchester M13 9PL, England (Chorlton)
0161 275 2648
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 317 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Manchester Museum is home to an array of treasures from the natural world and the many cultures it is home to. Highlights include a T.rex and fossils of other pre-historic creatures, ancient Egyptian artefacts and live amphibians and reptiles. You can handle objects from the collection, take part in hands-on activities or enjoy a glass of wine of cup of coffee whilst exploring the latest ideas in science, culture and the arts.
Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

It was a really impressive musseum. I loved the egipcian part. A very good spot for family tourism, it is very modern too.

The dinossaurs part is also very good.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    221
    54
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

Spent the morning strolling around the museum enjoying the splendid and sometime spectacular exhibits there are on offer. The museum is an absolute must see for tourists and native visitors and the ambience around the university area makes you want to spend more time strolling around. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent but some of the exhibits need a replacing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

Im studying at the university next door so its nice to pop in during lessons. Love the place and the exhibits. Only flaw I have to say is there needs to be a changed of certain sections as they seem a little dated and old. New change would probably bring in more locals to revisit the museum

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grand Kids Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

Brilliant museum, the diversity of the content is absolutly brilliant this is my third visit which probably tells you that i like the place lots for the kids to see and do the Tropical vivariam is excellent with all the little poison dart frogs and geckos. The mummys from different parts of the world are on full display too very interesting.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Didn't plan on our visit but really glad we did .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015 via mobile

We were heading into Manchester to go to a concert and having never been to Manchester before we looked for things to do ( we didn't come all the way from Hastings to go shopping ) .
I found this museum on the tourist information page. We managed to park close by and walked about 4 minutes . Like another review we didn't find the entrance , we walked in via the cafe.
We came to look at the vivarium but found all the other exhibitions very very interesting . It was certainly a lot bigger than we were expecting and totally enjoyable .
This would be a super place to visit with any members of the family. There's lots and lots of interesting information and there was a lovely woodland area for children to use the binoculars to find the insects and birds , with books and sounds .
I enjoyed the insects , dinosaur's, the vivarium , stuffed animals and the gift shop .
A free day out for all the family ( we did pop some money in the voluntary box at reception , as we really did enjoy this gem of an attraction ) .
Really glad we came .

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manchester Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Manchester Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manchester Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.