We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opus One - Manchester

Opus One - Manchester
Radisson Edwardian | Free Trade Hall, Manchester M2 5GP, England
+44 161 835 9929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $54 - $70
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The dramatically glamorous surroundings of Opus One are a sharp riposte to the Italianate façade of the Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester in which it is situated. An extravaganza of red chandeliers, glossy black woodwork and antique gold wall hangings give this striking central Manchester restaurant a bold, vibrant ambience. Cuisine is fittingly modern British, with locally sourced produce dressed up in excitingly eclectic flavours.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top class dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Visited here a while back but had to mention the lovery meal we had. Food was top quality and tasted great

thanks

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Opus One - Manchester, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    74
    45
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best in Manchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

There are a lot of supposedly top class restaurants to visit in Manchester, many pretenders, but Opus One (part of the Radisson Edwardian) is the real deal. An early evening meal meant it was manageably busy, but not yet full.

The staff were extremely attentive in every detail, faultless, the tables immaculate and the food, (won't go into detail here, that's for another write up elsewhere) but suffice to say was superb, as you would hope to have expected.

All our guests, without exception were smitten with everything about this place, from the outstanding décor to the fabulous food and service, and we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Opus One - Manchester, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to inviting you back to our restaurant again very soon. Kind regards. Peter Boyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Stunning suroundings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went there for afternoon tea and it was great but the thing that really took me by surprise was the sorroundings!

The hotel is located just a block down from Albert Square. If you go there make sure you'll be seated at the window! Out there it's light and posh compared to the dark inside of the restaurant and bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Opus One - Manchester, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to Opus again in the very near future. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A meal fit for a king !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Apologies - typo : A meal that fit inside a king size Mars bar wrapper.

Dined in Opus One very recently, and am still laughing at the size of the portions...

I'm a medium build man with no massive appetite, and I'm not the sort to go to all you can eat buffets. That said, i've had bigger chocolate bars from the newsagents than the meals served here.

Whilst the atmosphere of the restaurant is nice, and the staff relatively attentive, but slow, the food is very tasty. Obviously expensive, £15 for a lasagne, but that wouldn't be a concern if it were not for the micro portions.

After ordering my Borrowers sized portion of lasagne, I was amazed to see the childs menu was not only significantly cheaper but the portions for that were a good 5 times bigger. I'm not exaggerating when I say the lasagne portion was literally three decent mouthfuls.

Combine this with the fact that the waiter neglected to suggest any sides - given the fact he knew all to well about the postage stamp sized portion lost on a plate as big as my head... I'm sure it was a ruse to make me destroy the chocolate in the minibar at the hotel ( £3 for a Twix? Come on... )

I would heartily recommend this restaurant to all anorexics, escapees from a hospital who are marked "nil by mouth" or anyone expecting Jeremy Beadle to rise from the grave and pop out, shouting "got you!".

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Opus One - Manchester, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer.
Thank you for your interesting comments. We do value all of our feedback.
Our highly popular and acclaimed Restaurant has consistently delivered a very high standard of Food and Service, collecting numerous awards over the 10 years we have been open, so we are somewhat surprised to read your comments. However while we appreciate that Opus might only appeal to a sophisticated palette, our reputation for delivering outstanding value for money is as strong as ever.
Our readers are welcome to visit our company website to view photos of our dishes, where the portion, as I am sure you will agree, is not postage stamp or chocolate bar size. I apologise we do not offer our dishes in Super Size, in no way do we aim to compete with high street fast food chains.
Kind regards.

Peter Boyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely food and attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were staying at the hotel so had lunch here one day which was lovely, limited choice of sandwiches but cooked beautifully. We had dinner one night, good selection of food and again cooked beautifully. Very helpful attentive staff too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Opus One - Manchester, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back to OpusOne again very soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus One - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Opus One - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opus One - Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.