We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Modern European” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael Caines Restaurant at ABode Manchester

Michael Caines Restaurant at ABode Manchester
107 Piccadilly | 107 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2DB, England
+44 161 247 7744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #217 of 1,718 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $47 - $129
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the bustling centre of Manchester's Piccadilly, Michael Caines at ABode Manchester offers smart modern European cooking from its period location inside a former cotton merchant's warehouse. Situated on the lower ground level, this elegant restaurant has a buzzy, easygoing vibe, with snappy grazing menus and express lunches for busy diners and sumptuous à la carte offerings for more leisurely meals. Typically creative dishes include pan-fried brill with creamed leeks and chive butter sauce or best-end of Herdwick lamb with onion and thyme purée.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Classic Modern European”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

aBode Hotel Manchester is one of those fine Edwardian baroque buildings which were constructed for a totally different purpose, in this case the head office and showrooms for Horrocks Crewdsen and Co, a clothes company, originally from Preston. It might be considered a pity then that Michael Caines Restaurant is in the basement of the building. This may not be to everyone’s taste but the food is likely to be. A small group of us chose from the ‘grazing menu’ – three to five dishes from a small but very tempting range of starters, vegetable, fish, meat and puddings. (The three of us of course chose five with matching wines.) All the dishes were interesting and excellent and the wines well-chosen and wide ranging. The bread was superlative – warm, crusty, delicious. This was a very good lunch at an astonishing £39.25 per head for five dishes with matching wines. You would be hard-pressed to find a better deal. But why then, when we asked for liquors with our coffees, did they come with unrequested ice? Am I a tad old fashioned maybe? A minor gripe perhaps, but as this was the last taste we had in the place, it was a pity. Nonetheless, the place is certainly possessed of a first-class kitchen producing creative and faultless food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    206
    132
    83
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delicious food. Nice atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Located in the basement many would doubt how it will work. No natural light. Some will definatly will find it odd to dine here! Some will definatly will find it too dark.

Me, I like it. It's intermite, soft and personal.
Food never dissapoints and service is going hand in hand with food quality.

Lovely souffle on the menu as well as duck fo main.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“imaginative menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went to this restaurant during a weekend trip to Manchester. The service was good and professional with an imaginative choice of menu. We ate in the lower bar and not the actual restaurant but the atmosphere was calm and relaxing. I chose the mushroom risotto with pearl barley instead of rice and it was delicious and beautifully presented. The meal did not look a lot but it was filling and I was comfortably full with no room for desert unfortunately. The price was reasonable and I would recommend this place for a first class meal in a comfortable surrounding

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was expecting great things, but unfortunately Abode did not deliver. The food wad good, but didn't feel it rated the price and the service was, quite frankly shocking! There are so many great places to eat in Manchester, why would you go back and pay a small fortune for something decidedly average.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucs
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not good enough for the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ate here in November 2012. The restaurant downstairs is ok but like so many these days for some reason they want you to eat in the dark! One person in our party took the menu to the bar to get enough light to read it. On the whole the food was excellent but the service was very poor and I really would expect much better. It was slow and the staff really did seem quite condescending. I would not rush back and I am sure there are better places to eat in Manchester that do not charge as much just to eat in the restaurant of a "celebrity " chef. £9.20 for a bottle of water is just taking the mickey.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Caines Restaurant at ABode Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Michael Caines Restaurant at ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael Caines Restaurant at ABode Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.