We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant.

Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant.
21 Cathedral Street | Exchange Square, Manchester M1 1AD, England
+44 1618288898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $92
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked a table to try the winter feast menu was a great deal. The cocktail was much nicer than expected since neither of us were whisky drinkers and both starters and mains were excellent (we both had the cod & sweet potato curry). I agree with other reviews that the cornflakes on top of the panacotta were far too sweet and that's coming from someone who loves a pudding! Service was very good and overall we were very happy however the one downfall was that we were put in a table in the furthest corner of the restaurant so didn't really get chance to take in the atmosphere. It was definitely a case of "cheap deal, cheap seats".

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, PA to Store Director at Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant., responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Jenuno

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the Winter Feast menu and your experience overall.

Your comments regarding the panacotta have been passed to the Head Chef. I would also like to assure you that guests dining on the Winter Feast menu are not seated in any different priority to those on the A la Carte menu.

We do have a different Winter Feast menu for the restaurant area if you would prefer to be seated in that space - this has actually been extended until 1st March.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Second Floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    125
    50
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Cam here for family afternnon tea. Even though this was pre-booked weeks in advance it took ages to get seated and get a table and we just had to stand in front of this tills getting in everyones way. I think the staff could have been a little more polite and did get that sense of looking down ones nose. When we got seated t took a long time to serve us. There was a good choice of teas, I had the green which was very nice. The food was ok -but nothing special, I've had nicer in local cafes for 1/4 price. The atmosphere was quite nice only it did feel like we were being rushed out. A real downside was the toilets were filthy for such a nice eshtablishment his should have been a top priority but they were awful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, PA to Store Director at Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant., responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Kate

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disapointed with your experience - I can assure you that we have taken your comments on board and these will be reviewed with the team.

If we have been unable to resolve issues on the day in person, we are always available directly at contactmanchester@harveynichols.com.

Yours sincerely

Louise Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disaster from the off.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

They lost my booking . Then claimed that because it was for 6 people if they had taken the booking they would have taken a deposit. Checked the text I'd sent straight after I booked it which confirmed that it was their mistake . Then after being told the supper club deal was on via the original booking phonecall and again on Friday , I was then told it's not on. Next time we ll go somewhere with decent customer service. Avoid !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, PA to Store Director at Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant., responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sazzle 074

Thank you for your review. If you could contact me via contactmanchester@harveynichols.com with full booking details and confirmation I can investigate this further.

Yours sincerely

Louise Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent value pre theatre dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We ate here before going to the Royal Exchange, very close by. Their Winter Feast menu is great value, three courses, a cocktail and a glass of wine for £20. The promotion is obviously working because the brasserie was very busy from 5.30 onwards.
We hadn't expected a lot for the price but the food and service were very good. The menu was not extensive but was imaginative, and food arrived hot and well presented.
We would certainly return here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea was a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I booked to go here on Saturday afternoon for a Champagne afternoon tea. Really enjoyed it- great location overlooking the Triangle, excellent service and the selection of sandwiches and cakes were delicious. All topped off with a lovely glass of champagne and then green tea. Also liked the fact that could book on-line. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant. also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.