We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea - a real treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant.

Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant.
21 Cathedral Street | Exchange Square, Manchester M1 1AD, England (Manchester City Centre)
+44 1618288898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 1,642 restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $30 - $92
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manchester City Centre
Kendal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea - a real treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived early and were seated straight away. The staff were very pleasant and polite. The food was excellent and a great variety of cakes and sandwiches. More tea was available throughout the afternoon. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    178
    105
    46
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food is matched by the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had lunch at the restaurant on the 31st of August. The food was excellent with an imaginative combination of flavours and ingredients.The service was efficient. Would recommend for a treat post shopping!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had never really considered dining at Harvey Nics before as I thought it would be quite a pompous atmosphere but I was proved to be very wrong.

We took advantage to the summer sunset dining menu offer @ £20 for 3 courses with a Elderflower Rickey cocktail. Unfortunately this offer expires today so hopefully it will be replaced with an alternative.

On arrival we were seated promptly and served our cocktail whilst we deliberated the menu. We expected small courses so were pleasantly surprised by the substantial servings. Absolutely fantastic, piping hot and we left stuffed!!

The staff were very friendly and attentive and we were therefore more than happy to conform to the 10% service charge (just hope this goes to the staff).

My only criticism would be that we thought the tables were too close together and we had a very loud group of girls sat next to us which did spoil our dining experience a little.

That said, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visited for a family get together, staff very nice could not do enough for you, had the set 3 course for £30.00 mixed and matched the menu, mackerel starter,pork belly main and choc brownie pudding all very excellent, cooked and presented wonderful, with a gin cocktail thrown in, excellent. Only a little negative, lacked a bit of atmosphere. We all had a wonderful evening. Will return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We took my parents here for afternoon tea, from the moment we arrived it was very good. We arrived early so had a drink in the bar before our table was ready. We our table was ready they moved us through into the restaurant where we had a table in the window overlooking the square below. We all had the afternoon tea menu and it was excellent. The service lived up to this.

On the whole a very good experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant. also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey Nichols Second Floor Restaurant., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.