We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albert's Shed

Albert's Shed
20 Castle Street, Castlefield, Manchester M3 4LZ, England
+44 161 839 9818
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Albert's Shed is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $19 - $70
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: If arriving by train - we are a 2 minute walk from Deansgate train station and a short taxi ride from Piccadilly Station. If arriving by Metrolink - we are a 5 minute walk from G-Mex Metrolink station. If arriving by road we are very close to the end of both the M56 and M602. Look out for The Beetham Tower (Hilton Hotel)
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a cool place! The staff were very friendly and kept things going smoothly all night. The menu was great and all the food delicious. The portions weren't huge which is sometimes OK but we did feel a bit peckish not long after so could have got a bit more for the money. A lovely evening though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    267
    85
    41
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Manchester's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I visited here on a Friday night and it was packed. The restaurant is quite large and open plan with modern styling. The service was friendly and welcoming, not the stuffy 'I'm better than you' service we've had in similar restaurants and there was a really nice, friendly atmosphere.

The food we ordered was absolutely superb. We had 3 courses each and each serving was large, perfectly cooked and very tasty. I had the pork belly starter and the lamb main was outstanding. Although our bill was about £65, including a wine and a top shelf vodka, I feel it was great value. The service and food were top notch and we both think this is Manchester's best restaurant at the moment. There are higher rated ones on here that are not a patch on Albert's Shed.

It's probably only 30th because it isn't slap bang in the city centre, but it's worth the 10 minute walk as this is easily the best food we've had in the city.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I dined here Saturday night with friends. It was my first time there,It was very busy yet the service was very fast and the staff were nice and friendly.The food was delicious, I enjoyed my scallop starter and grilled chicken main course. My friends also enjoyed their meals too.Overall it was a lovely experience and I would definitely come here again. highly recommended :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fab!! ,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went as a party of 6 on a Sat night. The restaurant was really busy but the food and service was excellent. We all thought it was excellent value for money for the quality of food that we received. We also liked the fact that the service was discreet and unobtrusive, they were not constantly trying to fill up glasses etc. The menu was great and varied, the scallops thermidore was the clear winner as a starter, but the other starters were all fantastic. In terms of main meals, we all loved the lamb. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Went to this restaurant a few weeks ago to celebrate mine & my sons birthdays, it was on a sunday lunch time, we were really impressed, the food was really lovely and tasty I had the sunday roast beef, the beef melted in your mouth it was so tender & plenty of it, there were 6 of us including 2 children and there were clean plates all round. The staff were lovely & friendly, even though they were very busy nothing was to much trouble, they have a lovely big patio area outside, but we chose to eat inside, which is a lovely large & very modern restaurant.
We were very pleased with everything & would go there again when we are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Shed also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Albert's Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert's Shed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.