We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velvet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Velvet to your Saves list
Velvet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Online breakfast offer
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Service and rooms are amazing!...if I have to point something out was floor above with wooden floors at 2am not loud enough to keep us awake but annoying..When pointed this out in the morning they were most apologetic and said you should have rung down and we would have sorted it. Didn't bother me enough to stop us going again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    186
    52
    18
    20
See reviews for
18
581
50
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked two rooms for my fiancè's birthday and loved our stay at velvet.
First impressions of the hotel were a little disappointing to be honest, The outside street (not directly velvet's fault however) was littered with rubbish and cigarette ends. We arrived on a Sunday morning though! Inside the hotel the public areas are starting to look a little tired and worn. We arrived too early to check in and the hotel kindly stored our bags and said they'd put them in our room once it was ready. They also gave us information on parking (cost us £20 for a day and a half at NCP) and a map of the area. When we returned a lovely member of staff escorted us to our rooms, explained how to work everything which we found to be a lovely personal touch. The same gentleman returned with a complimentary tray for us, again, a really nice touch. The rooms were beautiful. Exposed brick, wooden floors, bath big enough for two. They really had the wow factor. They've really taken the time to think of everything. The attention to detail is amazing - (I work in hospitality and I'm hard to please!)
We were out for the night and upon returning our bed had been turned down, mints on the pillow, radio on. Beautiful!
My only advice would be the rooms are starting to require a deep clean, dust on the shaving socket, along the base of the mirror etc and our guests in another room found shopping tags and discarded hangers in one of their drawers. But aside from this the rooms were clean.
We didn't have breakfast included in our rate so can't comment on that. We did have a drink in the bar, plush surroundings, nice mood lighting. Didn't use the restaurant.

Check out was smooth and efficient by the same gentleman who checked us in. We found all the staff we encountered to be friendly and polite.

Thank you velvet for a fantastic stay, we will definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Last Minute impulse stay.
Managed to get a penthouse suite at a greatly reduced rate due to a very late booking.
Room was to our liking with everything you would expect in a hotel
Mini Bar was full (but not for long) and very expensive. - Vodka and coke worked out at about £7+.
Would definitely recommend a stay here but would not pay the recommended room rate as this would be far too excessive.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 406. - Very decent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel 21st December 2013 for 2 nights. The hotel is close to the city centre, the rooms were clean & certainly unique. Their are nightclubs around the hotel but these did not create noise to the extent it was an annoyance or disturbance.
The staff were extremely friendly & polite. We had a great stay in a hotel I can't recommend enough and would defiantly visit again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed at Velvet 3 times in the last month whilst working in the area. Rooms are lovely, all have different features, staff are excellent. Thoroughly pleasant stay and would recommend to everyone. Bar is delightfully decorated and the cocktail list is sublime. Have yet to try the restaurant but I can only believe it matches the excellent standard achieved by the rest of the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wow, what an amazing little hotel, hidden away. On checking in we requested a balcony room although this wasn't what we'd originally booked the lovely lady on reception sorted it for us. She then kindly took us to our amazing room (36) and shown us how everything worked, the double shower looked awesome. The lady then returned to our room with an ice bucket as we mentioned earlier we had brought some fizz with us, nothing was too much trouble.
We later went down to the restaurant, there was an excellent selection, we choose 2 pizzas and a bottle of wine for £20, unbelievable value and so tasty. We later moved on the cocktail bar, we asked the bar tender if he could suggest a pick me up as we started to flag once we'd eaten, he suggested an espresso based cocktail, they were that good we had two. That evening we did the bars and clubs, returned to the hotel and had a fabulous nights sleep. I can't recommend Velvet highly enough. The hotel is literally 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly Station.

Room Tip: Watch your knees on the huge bed corners lol Room 36 has a lovely little balcony, with an outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is average, there are some nice furniture and decoration and a big bath, but everything looks tired. The room was really dirty, piles of dust on the ceiling lights, bed, curtains. The windows also was extremely dirty.
The service was OK, so was a breakfast.
We stayed there on Tuesday-Wednesday, so there was very little noise from the street.
My impression: the hotel is nothing really special, and for the price the customers pay they could at least have tried to clean the rooms properly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#10 Business Hotel in Manchester
#36 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velvet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.