We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel tucked away in a safe, vibrant hub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Velvet to your Saves list
Velvet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel tucked away in a safe, vibrant hub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was my first visit to The Velvet, and based almost entirely on the fantastic reputation and world-of-mouth this place has. Booking was simple and straight forward and I arrived late afternoon to be shown personally to my room. A few minutes later, the mini-bar was re-stocked and ice and treats provided.

The room itself (a balcony king) was a little smaller than the photos suggest, and the balcony is actually part of one long terraced balcony shared with the other balcony rooms, privacy provided by immovable shutters that don't entirely block the view of other residents, should the occupants of both rooms be looking over the balcony at the same time.

That said, the room was gorgeous, especially the bathroom which was clean, modern and spacious. In a five star hotel, I'd expect a separation between the toilet and shower area but it was roomy enough to be fine here.

I didn't spend a lot of time in the room itself but the highlights were the iPod dock, good entertainment system, reasonably priced mini-bar and heater/lighting on the balcony itself. The noise wasn't noticeable and there was definite sense of luxury to the place. It was impressive.

If I have one semi-major criticism, it surrounds the way payment was taken. On arrival at the hotel, pre-authorisation was sought from my card for the price of the room plus £50. It was explained well and there was no problem with that. However, on check out, the cost of the room (plus mini-bar purchases) were taken as a second charge to my card and not as part of the original funds reserved on check-in. That essentially more than doubles the cost of the room in the short term, until the reserved funds are released back into my account. That wasn't appropriately explained, and neither is such a practice what I'd expect. The room charge should be deducted from the reserved funds and not taken as a duplicate transaction. I am still waiting for the £199 which was reserved four days ago to come back into my account. Don't take this as a major criticism of the hotel - it's not, but I'd be curious to hear management feedback regarding this issue as the hotel itself - although lovely - isn't cheap and this adds considerably expense on a short term basis.

Aside from that, this was an excellent stay and I'd be happy to consider Velvet for my next stopover in Manchester.

Room Tip: The greater the expense, the higher and therefore quieter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    207
    61
    21
    23
See reviews for
19
641
56
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed for one night; my husband and I had a king balcony and my son a regular king. I found the rooms on the small side (smaller than the rooms we had in London a couple of nights before). Balcony kings feel more spacious because of glass doors looking out, and the little balcony was very pleasant on the lovely spring day we had. Downside of location on the canal is noise from the bars further down; revelry went on till about 2 am.

Service was pleasant; I ordered room service and the pizza was delivered very promptly and was tasty. Plates would have been appreciated-instead, was just delivered in a box. In general I wouldn't rave about the hotel as others have, but since I always prefer boutique hotels to corporate ones, no regrets.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Nice hotel, the rooms are very well done and is not like your bog standard hotel room, it has character and charm. The bathroom was great, large and a lovely shower but it did smell a bit damp and some of the tiles were looking a bit black in the grout. The hotel overall is very nice, it is in a old building overlooking the canal. This is good and bad as the sound proofing in the room is not great so you do hear what your side and upstairs neighbours are up to. I stayed for just one night so was fine just for that. Overall good but a few small let-downs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed at Velvet in Manchester a few weeks ago and have absolutely loved it. Me and my boyfriend stayed for one night on their "King room with late check-out offer ". It is worth it , if you plan on going out till late yourself . Manchester has such a buzzing nightlife it would be a shame not to.
I was blown away by the design of the room and just how MUCH space there is in your room.
Lovely touches in the room - ice , lemon slices for your drinks , chocolate chip biscuits and shortbread - it really does make a difference and you feel very welcome.
Would very much recommend Velvet for that special romantic week-end away - it has the "WOW!" factor and will certainly impress your partner.

Try the adjoining Velvet bar , great friendly staff and delicious cocktails ( even though I had to wait for one for 15 mins ). All in all , this is a fun place to be!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I stay in Manchester a lot with work and have tried most of the hotels around the city centre including Mint, Malmaison and the Macdonald. Now I have found Velvet, I won't be booking any other hotel. The room was spacious, stylish and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The hotel is small so doesn't have the the "corporate" feel of larger hotels. Staff on the front desk were super - Mohammed was an absolute star for no other reason than making me feel welcome and comfortable. The food was really good and room service is prompt. The location is 5 minutes away from Manchester Piccadilly station and is on Canal Street, the vibrant and characterful area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I use this review site with great care, only write what I have already to the staff at the time of my stay, and post very few reviews.

The Penthouse Suite was superb, dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were excellent and cocktails in the bar a lot of fun. Add to that the quality of the staff, who were to a person friendly and professional, and The Velvet is a great place to stay whilst you are in Manchester.

This hotel is quirky and individual and definately not "corporate". If you are an Hilton afficionado or a Premier Inn groupie it's probably not for you. If you appreciate cutting edge, good design, personal service and professionalism I'd strongly recommend The Velvet to you.

I know you guys on reception are reading this; thanks for a great stay and keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Think about what you are after and ask the reception staff for advice when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

close to Piccadilly Station, right on Canal St. Sexy. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velvet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.