We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but be aware of the noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Velvet to your Saves list
Velvet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not bad but be aware of the noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great location and service at the onset was good but unfortunate that there was a fire at the premises which led to a 2 and a half hour evacuation -- and really no substantial offer of compensation for the very early wake up call apart from breakfast and a late check out and a brush off when this was questioned.
Rooms are great though, and location too -- but be warned the noise for some may be a problem but was ok for me.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    206
    61
    21
    23
See reviews for
19
639
56
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed at the Velvet recently when I was over in Manchester for a conference, mainly due to the rave reviews but also because I managed to secure a good deal on rates. I stayed Sunday night and checked out Wednesday morning.

Others have mentioned noise as an issue so I thought I will spend a bit of time commenting on that - I did find it to be an issue on Sunday night, where the "boom-boom-boom" of the base from the bar next door. But it had completely died down by midnight, except for the occasional happy drunk carrying on as they wandered by. Monday night was very quiet, and Tuesday night was a bit noisy but not too bad.

The hotel was very quirky, charming deco, lovely art in the rooms and along the halls. Nice personal touches such as a shelf full of books and board games to borrow, and DVD's to borrow from the reception (which I found especially useful on the Sunday night as I waited for the noise to die down downstairs). Of course none of the noise issue matters if you were planning to be part of the party scene, but nonetheless I did manage to work around it. The service is lovely and makes you feel very pampered; it's the little touches that makes the difference - the welcoming tray (featuring, amongst other things, fresh lemon and lime slices for your tea/alcoholic beverages), the turndown service, etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay and this hotel is brilliant.The owners should be very proud because believe me they have thought of everything.The staff were all very helpful and friendly in all areas of the Velvet.The room was really tastefully furnished and had one of the best hotel bathrooms I have seen,and I install top end bathrooms for a living.
The bar is comfortable and perfect for a before and after dinner drink.The restaurant and food at dinner and breakfast both excellant,try the the dessert cocktails they are very clever and very good. On top of being good they took 50% of the food bill at our last dinner.
As with most city hotels parking is a problem but they have even thought of that as you park in the nearby NCP carpark and the hotel discounts the cost by 20%.
My wife was impressed with the small details like the daily fresh milk in the room for the tea and coffee facility,REN toiletries,ice replaced in ice bucket daily,nightly bed turn down service,towels and linen changed daily.
I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I could not fault this place,would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed at end of October. Rooms to high standard... They even give u fresh milk for tea, no uht nonsense!
There was a fire alarm in the early hours but very calmly and professionally dealt with and we were immediately given late check out and offered a free lunch. would have stayed again regardless!
Would Certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Velvet Hotel is an exceptionally well-run hotel, with the quality of service you rarely get in city centre short-break hotels. From the moment you enter the front door and climb the stairs to the lobby, the front-desk staff can not do enough to help. We arrived late (thanks Virgin trains) to meet friends in the hotel restaurant, so the front desk manager was kind enough to take all the bags off us and organise them being taken to our room while we rushed off. The rooms are beautifully done out, with everything you could imagine wanting, and really lovely extra touches like sweets in a jar, and a rubber duck for the bath. My real evidence for how good this hotel is is their performance under pressure.. while we stayed at Velvet we were woken at 5.30am by the fire alarm and the resulting small electrical fire required all hotel guests to spend some time standing in a car park. The staff continually kept us informed as to the progress of the fire service investigation, and just as my patience was wearing thin and I was getting cold, they organised for us to sit in the warm in a nearby bar and brought us hot drinks to keep us going. When we got back to the hotel 90 minutes after the alarm, all departing guests were offered late check out and the staff had thoughtfully opened windows in our room to air out the smell. We later also discovered that the truly excellent breakfast in bed we had ordered for a treat was also offered complimentary as an apology for the alarm. My only note of warning is as per the other reviews, it can be quite noisy on a Saturday night - we were there over Halloween weekend - the air-conditioning and double-glazing mean that this did not affect our sleep at all, but if you are easily irritated by knowing there is noise, then possibly Saturday night is not the time to come. My other main tips if you're thinking of staying at Velvet: 1) don't bring toiletries, theirs are REN and amazing and replaced like clockwork everyday; 2) have the breakfast in bed, it is exceptional; 3) investigate a room on the upper floors where the noise is probably even less of an issue. All in all, highly highly recommended. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We only stayed for 1 night on a Tuesday but we couldnt have asked for a better experience. Friendly staff and warm welcome followed by excellent room and great attention to detail throughout. WIll stay again next time we are there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

i could be here days writing all the good stuff about this hotel but i will keep it short....

We stayed here before we flew to Mexico for our honeymoom, the room had such a WOW factor and the food was just devine from the restaurant, not to mention the cocktails!!

This has to be one of my top 3 hotels ever and there isnt a doubt in the world about us returning!!!

FAB FAB FAB!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#33 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velvet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.