We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manchester Pride in Style!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Light ApartHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Light ApartHotel to your Saves list
The Light ApartHotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Manchester Pride in Style!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As the title suggests I'm currently recovering from my visit to Manchester's annual Gay Pride event. I decided to splurge a little and booked The Light, first impressions were ok, checked out the usual review sites - a few moaners but then there generally is always someone whose expectations are entering the atmosphere.

Check-in was straight forward, quick and efficient. Reception were so helpful getting me into my apartment early and getting me directions to the Gay Village; they also provided some excellent places to eat my hangover away in the mornings.

My flat...sorry apartment was perfect 1 bedroom with comfy double bed and ample space for my oversized suitcase, separate kitchen area with all the things I would need to prepare any meals and a cozy living room with a balcony which had great views of Manchester.

All in all a great place to stay for the weekend. I had a fantastic time everyone I met couldn't have been any more helpful and smiley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was fantastic to read your comments and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back before the next pride

Once again Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    104
    69
    40
    29
See reviews for
60
96
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Given the price of the apartment we paid for, I thought the Light was a let down.

The WiFi didn't work. The plug for the bath had to be prised out of the bath with a knife. The TV remote had been stolen and the rooms were stifling hot; as the windows would not open. There was also no AC - which is more or less standard in even the most basic of hotels.

The hotel is in a good central location and the service was good. The apartment was poor and provided little value for money with the above negatives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

We did have a problem with the complimentary WIFI for a few hours whilst you visited us, it was still available in reception however but i do apologize for the slight down time.
The bath plug is a pop up one and just needed to be depressed rather than forced out with a knife and we are always here to help where necessary.

All windows have window restriction on them for guest safety and aircon is not advertised for the apartment type you booked and is available in the penthouses for those unseasonably warm days we occasionally get in Manchester
Thank you though for complimenting the location and we do hope that you consider us for any future trips to Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location, attentive friendly staff. Thoughtfully had wine, balloons and a card from the staff for my birthday which was a nice touch. Apartment was immaculate, well equipped, only niggle was could have done with mirrors in both bedrooms (4 girls sharing) and bathroom light seemed to have a mind of its own!

For what we have paid this has been excellent value, and would definitely return.

Big thank you to Nicola who sorted room mix up out straight away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Light.
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to us and that we were able to play a part in your birthday celebrations.
I will pass your comments to Nicola and the team and remember to book direct to get the best available rates.

Once again thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The only thing the Light ApartHotel has going for it is its fantastic central location, everything else is a huge let down!!
The reception area is of a boutique standard, however the rooms are more the standard of the local YMCA!!!
The flooring in the hallways is held down with masking tape; the room is sparse and looks nothing like the photo's; the rooms are dirty; the balcony has more moss and grass growing on it then I've ever seen; our bed moved in 4 directions - wobbled back and forth and from side to side all at the same time; the second room the bed was broken and the bed slats kept falling out; our shower head had more lime scale and black grunge then a sewer; the windows were filthy and some of the window catches were broken... Does this sound like a Boutique property to you????
Informed staff and they really didn't seem to care, very unhelpful and lacking in charisma or personality.

Room Tip: Although a great location it is hugely over priced for its low quality rooms. Save yourself some mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry to read such comments, as you can tell form the others on here, how you felt is not something we aspire to.

As such i have PM you to get more feedback.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

These are, as the review title suggests, modern apartments and they are located a short walk from Piccadilly station and the printworks. They are, above all, very quiet. Or at least the apartment I stayed in across fri sat and Sunday nights was. However, there are a few things I didn't like. Firstly, the rooms were too warm making it very difficult to sleep. The windows couldn't be opened and there were no fans or air con. One room had no wardrobe and was too small to fit the suitcase in at the end of the bed, so it had to be left in the hall area outside the bedroom. There was no remote control for the tv, even though we asked for one and were told it would be provided. It never came. And the lifts are extremely slow to arrive after pressing the button and even though I was on the 8 th floor, I got so fed up of waiting for the lift I carried my suitcase down the stairs to check out in the end. If I was to stay in a city apartment again I would choose the nearby premier apartments, which also had two bathrooms in a 2 bed apartment, against the one bathroom here. On a plus, there is a nice little gym in the light apartments which one of our group made use of.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Light on Tripadvisor.
I’m sorry that you did not enjoy the deluxe apartment booked by your your travel partner.
The external windows in your apartment do open and are left unlocked so guests are able to regulate the flow of fresh air; as a safety feature they do lock when the button is pressed in but reception was on hand to assist if you were struggling to operate.

The two lifts in the building cover all 19 floors - during peak check in and out times the lifts may be very busy but are functional.

As mentioned above your travel partner booked a deluxe 2 bedroom apartment - from reading your feedback, i conclude that possibly a 2 bedroom executive would fulfill your needs better as these have two bathrooms and the bedrooms are more equal in size so I hope with the above in mind you would reconsider another visit to The Light in an apartment more suited to your requests.

We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I proposed to my fiancee in Manchester and during our trip we stayed at the Light Boutique. I cannot thank the staff enough for going out of their way and making our stay one of the best hotel experiences ever. They were genuinely friendly people who cared about our occasion.
Not only that, but the room we stayed was nicely decorated, spacious and very competitively priced compared to similar hotels. Truly outstanding customer service, a pleasure to stay at and I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Dean,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Light and your kind comments towards our property and team members.
We are thrilled to have been a part of your special occasion and we hope to welcome you back again again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great central location, close to the Arndale shopping centre. Staff were friendly and helpful, safe and secure parking under the hotel was a good price compared to ncp car parks in the city. The apartment was very clean and spacious, with all the equipment needed for a long stay, although we were only there for one night. Beds were very comfortable. Was a bonus to have complimentary bottles of water ready in the fridge! The only issue was with the shower head in the bathroom - it was too heavy for it's holder so wouldn't stay in place, so we had to take it in turns to hold it while the other person washed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Drew,

Thank you for taking the time to review the ApartHotel and your kind comments towards our property and team members here at The Light.
We will make sure the comments are passed to them and maintenance has replaced the lack luster shower holder.

We’re so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and please let us know when you are next in Manchester; we guarantee our return guests the best rates available when booking direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Address: 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Light ApartHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.