We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location very good, staff helpful but some improvements required” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Light ApartHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Light ApartHotel to your Saves list
The Light ApartHotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Midlands/Eng
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location very good, staff helpful but some improvements required”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Booked 2 nights in March as usual hotels were full due to a busy weekend in manchester. Decided to stay in a one bedroom standard room only as we do not spend much time in the room usually. It was not a cheap option particularly but it was flexible with the living area and kitchen potentially being useful. Secured a car parking space although they are limited and very tight fit!! The lift from the bedroom floors does not go direct to car park you have to change lifts via a few stairs and doors which is a nuisance if you have heavy luggage but when leaving we were helped. The apartment was an adequate size and clean. Kitchen well equiped although our toaster blew the fuses (it was changed immediately) The balcony would be nice in better weather although small. The bedroom was a disappointment. No window, very small bed and a foam mattress i think made it uncomfortable. The wardrobe was a bit shabby not enough coat hangers, only one bedside lamp. The place was very warm if needed but the bathrooms heated towel rail was not working as they overheat apparently so no heating in the bathroom. Another irritating point - no phone so any prob we had to call down using our mobile.They do take a massive deposit which is not returned for approx 5 days when you book in so be aware!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review through Tripadvisor and Thank you for choosing to stay at The Light.
The building has two lifts, one goes to the ground floor only and the right hand lift services the car park also.
If you do come down in the left lift and depart at the ground floor the other lift is right next to it to transfer your luggage over without using stairs.
Some of our apartments do have internal bedrooms, we always try and meet requests for guests if we are advised and i was sorry that the mattress was not to your preference.
We supply as standard 6 hangers in each wardrobe, we have more for guests who are staying for longer periods or who have more clothing to be stored, so again please just speak with us and we can help to resolve in anyway we can.
The security deposit is released by us on the day of departure, different peoples banks takes different length of times to transfer and release, so we advise the 5-7 day time frame to minimize confusion.

We hope that you return to The Light

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    125
    75
    41
    28
See reviews for
71
111
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here - extremely disappointing.

Mid week stay, booked on the day. In the area with work. Apartments small, non luxurious, cracks, flaking paint, broken/ misplaced flooring, tiny beds, bad smells bed sit. I stayed in apartment 74. Staff were really nice and managed to get parking no problem.

I don't like to complain. If I had I would probably have got moved but the furniture was so worn I imagine every apartment is the same.

Lovely reception area but that's no good when you book an apartment because you want a home away from home. I usually stay at the abode or double tree manchester or mottram hall in cheadle - all of which are first class and cheaper. if you can go a little further try the posh pads in Liverpool - make this hotel look like a prison.

I can't imagine this hotel is Owned by a large company. Probably someone who is cash strapped and on the verge of bankruptcy. I would never stay there again. Even if they offered a free night. But based on everyone else's complaints previously ill be lucky not to get a cocky, sarcastic reply - like the previous guests looking back at the comments I would of been furious.

Again staff did seem lovely and friendly and helpful and no doubt have a difficult job. Save yourself the disappointment and stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I was sorry to read that the apartments did not meet your needs.
As you stated The Light is not a chain of hotels but is indeed an independently run business, which is not on the verge of bankruptcy.
The beds are of a standard 4" 6 size and the whole property is undergoing a refurbishment and is about 70 percent completed, so if you were to visit us again in the future then i am sure you would notice a difference.
Thank you for commenting that the team were friendly and we are here to help, so if you were unhappy with your apartment we would have done everything we could to have resolved for you.
I do hope that after reading this you would consider us for a return stay and that you have not found the comments offensive as this is never our intention.

Once again thank you for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great Hotel my partner booked this for a romantic break and from the room to the views and the added extras from the hotel this was by far the best hotel experience I have had!!! When we arrived we were treated like VIP'S the manager showed us to our penthouse suit which had amazing view of manchester and a luxury hot tub on the balcony and a mobile bar (however I think you have to request this added extra). We had champers in the room on ice waiting for us with chocolates in the room. We were then shown around the hotel and the gym and spa facilities. The staff were so helpful we asked then to suggest a restaurant and they booked a lovely place and organised transport too. The even recommended lots of quirky bars to go afterwards. The breakfast was excellent fresh and all the added extras, the staff were very attentive. This is what every hotel experience should be like I will definately be returning this year!!! :)

Room Tip: If available try to book the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
It was a pleasure to read your thoughts on our hotel and that you felt we deserved a 5 star rating.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a hen do.
Location and parking - fantastic, reduced rates in car park opposite.
Rooms and bathroom - classy, way better than others in Manchester.
Staff - helpful, chatty and friendly.
Kitchen - better than mine at home.
Views - over looking the city.

Clean and value for money.
Perfect for a hen do, weekend away or mini break
Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review through Tripadvisor.

We were thrilled to read your positive feedback and thank you for also taking the time to post the pictures of our newly refurbished apartments.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Colleague and I stayed in two bed roomed, both en suite, apartment on 13th floor. We had a good sized sitting room/ kitchen with a view back over the city to the Pennines. The whole place which comprises a mix of owned flats and "hotel rooms" is clean and modern. Book direct for better rates.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your review through Tripadvisor

We were please to read that The apartment met your business needs and that you enjoyed the facilities at the hotel.
As you stated for your next stay please contact us direct for the best rates available

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

They took £200 as deposit out of my account and wont be refunded until 7-10 days. I have stayed in many hotels and this has never been done before anywhere. They should of kept my card details and charged if nessesary. Room small and cramped tv on the wall you could barely see it if sitting on the bed. Couldn't open window either. Lift broke. Great location but from seeing the pictures online and seeing reception I had hoped for a lot more. Wont stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor

As documented on all websites, we do require to have either a pre authorisation of a credit card or a debit card on arrival.
Whilst this is a procedure in all hotels and aparthotels, the amount can vary.
We release the funds taken if no extras or incidentals are used the day you depart.
The delay is that every bank or building society has their own timelines in actioning the request, this can vary between 3 and in some cases 10 days, so we tell guests on check in to avoid unknowing frustration.
Thank you for the feedback that you personally felt the tv was too small in the bedroom and that you felt the room small.
Reception is available 24 hours a day if you were struggling with anything your room and would always be happy to help.

We do hope in light of the above that you would return to the hotel again and we would be delighted to welcome you back

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the light apart hotel yesterday. We went in at about 2 o clock and even though check in was not until 3 they let us straight up and they upgraded our room from a studio to a 1 bed apartment on the 14th floor which had amazing views of the city. The staff on reception were extremely friendly and welcoming and definitely went the extra mile to make our stay great. The room was spacious and clean and the location was great, it was about a 4/5 minute walk to deansgate and the arndale centre and had lots of little shops around it. Unfortunately we had the worst nights sleep ever, you could hear loud footsteps and noises all night and the noise from outside ( I know you can expect this in the city but we have stayed in Manchester a few other times and this was not the case. ) This place would be ideal if there is a group of you and it's not just a couples get away as the noise spoilt it for us a bit as we slept for about 3 hours max! If you don't mind that then it's great!

Room Tip: Try and get a room upgrade to a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your overall 4 stars placed through Tripadvisor.

I was pleased to read your praise of the location and the rooms themselves and especially the team here which I shall pass on personally.

I was sorry though that some guests encroached on your nights sleep, please in a situation that arrises such as that, contact reception and we shall do all we can to rectify the problem and help.

Once again thanks and we hope to welcome you back to The Light
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Address: 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Light ApartHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.