We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Light ApartHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Light ApartHotel to your Saves list
The Light ApartHotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were moved here after originally booking at the Premier Apartments. Five days before our trip we were told that the existing tenants wanted to extend their stay and we were asked to move to The Light. At first I was angry but on reading reviews realised that this place actually had better reviews!
We parked at the NCP which was just opposite. The young man at the desk was really friendly and helpful. It was our first trip to Manchester and he gave us a map and clear directions to where we wanted to go. We were also upgraded which was a lovely surprise.
The apartment was amazing, we were on the 13th floor and had fantastic views across Manchester. When we got back from our night out I sat on the balcony with my glass of wine and just watched the big wheel!
I cannot fault the apartment at all, it was well equipped and perfect for shopping as it was a short walk to the Arndale shopping mall and it would be my place of choice next time I am in Manchester. I have also recommended it to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    104
    69
    40
    29
See reviews for
60
95
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The service we received at this fabulous hotel was excellant. On our arrival which was early our room was ready and we were upgraded to the Penthouse on the 19th floor.
The room was luxourious and the views of Manchester were amazing. If you book this room do not go out, stay in and enjoy all it has to offer.
The hotel is right in the city centre in the Northern Quater with it many quirky and trendy bars and restaurants.
The whole experience was wonderful and the best hotel I have stayed in Manchester.
The car park is very reasonable at £10.00 per night but, only suitable for small cars, however there are 2 NCP carparks next door and acroos the road. The hotel also gives you a 20% discount off parking in the NCP.
We didnt eat in the Restaurant or go in the Spa so I cannot comment on these.

Room Tip: The Penthouse 19th floor, we were upgraded as we paid the most on that particular night, just lucky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had a one night stay on a Take That concert night. The reception staff were particularly pleasant and helpful. The apartment was great with 2 double bedrooms, bathroom. lounge area and fully equipped kitchen. There was also a balcony with great views over the city of Manchester. It was very useful to have the fridge stocked with a complimentary welcome pack including bread, milk, orange juice etc. Also a bottle of white wine chilling in the fridge at only £9.50 a bottle. This would be very good value for 2 couples wanting a night out in Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Light is The best place I have stayed in Manchester.

Booking for 4 of us for a stay over to see Take That we stumbled over this aparthotel by accident and now I will never stay anywhere else when I come to Manchester. The apartment was huge with many gadgets we never had chance to use as we had only booked for one night (£140 for all 4 of us from laterooms).

Our apartment had a large kitchen/dining room/lounge plus 2 double rooms one with en suite shower room and a separate bathroom adjacent to the other bedroom. We found everything clean and the bath sheets were bath sheets not the exaggerated hand towels normally found in hotels. The large windows allowed us to view Manchester from 3 sides. It was well equipped and ample breakfast hamper contents supplied, the staff were friendly and helpful allowing us to leave our bags while we visited the Arndale centre which was at the end of the road. The station, City Stadium and the Arena all within walking distance although we did find buses a couple of streets away for our event.

Time beat us and unfortunately we never got to use the spa or gym – this time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed as a group of 4 friends for the Take That concert and probably felt that £370 for one night in a 2 bed apartment was not the best value for money but if you can get a deal on this place there are some great Pro's:
City centre location
Underground parking (but cost us £10 extra)
Spacious flat
Balcony with great views
All mod cons
Comfy beds
Flatscreen TV's in both bedrooms and living room
Nicely furnished
Really friendly and helpful staff
Spa and gym

Cons:
Noisy both from city centre noise and flats above and people coming in from a night out
More for city nightlife than relaxing city break
No window in 2nd bedroom
Stingy breakfast hamper
Car park was a bit badly designed and organised - had to phone reception from car so they could activate the electric gate, need a buzzer system or something simple like that
It would suit a young at heart guest

Overall, I would stay here again but perhaps would shop round next time for a deal. When we booked Take that tickets we got a bit carried away and booked so far in advance!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here with 3 friends after seeing Take That in concert. We booked a "deluxe" 2 bedroom apartment. One room had a standard size double bed but the other has what could be best described as a three quarter size bed. We had to request a Z bed as there was no way two adults could have slept in the bed in comfort. The door to the balcony was broken and we had to request help for staff to secure it for the night. The bathroom tap fitting fell off and the phone in the apartment was broken. The decor was tired and shabby. The living room only had suitable seating for three people. Apart from that it was fine!

On the upside, staff were pleasant and helpful and Take That were fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Have stayed in quite a few hotels in Manchester for shopping/nights out, but this is the best one yet. Excellent location for shopping and bars being right in the centre. Excellent speedyfast lifts up to 14th floor , great sized apartment, very modern, clean and really comfy. Great sized living area with sofa, chair and dining table and chairs. Modern well equipped kitchen with good sized fridge and a few basics in it like milk, orange and cereal. One of the best bits about the apartment was the view across Manchester from the balcony with sliding glass doors all the way along. Had a two bed apartment with decent size main one and smaller, but adequate, second one with small double bed. Comfy beds and good sleep quality. Bathroom was large, really modern and clean with good toiletries. Couple of negs being dim lighting in main bedroom and sliding doors on to balcony took a bit of time to master but nothing other than that.

You can park underneath the building for a tenner if you pre-book but wouldn't advise as you have to faf about going to reception first so they can open the gate, then it's a steep slope to a teeny tiny car park that honestly is so tight, it took some manouvering even with a Fiesta! Would park in Print Works multi storey next time as it's very near.

Paid £120 per night for two bed apartment on booking.com - think a two bed/two bath was around £139 but if four friends are going, it's only £35 each which for the quality and location, I think is a real bargain. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose high floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Address: 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Light ApartHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.