We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry Valhalla!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kabana

Kabana
52 Back Turner Street, Manchester M4 1FR, England
+44 161 8352447
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Curry Valhalla!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My two colleagues and I have been searching for a good curry house in Manchester for the last month and after reading recent reviews decided to try Kabana. Quite simply it was heavenly! From stepping in to the Spartan but vey clean surroundings the owner asked if it was our first visit so he sat us down and came over to chat to us. We left everything in his hands and we were soon eating some great dishes from the grill, the lamp chops and fish were excellent and there was total silence on the table as we tucked in and the garlic naan soon vanished. We followed up with two curries one chicken and one lamb and they were quite simply the best curries any of us have ever had. The price was ridiculous when you consider quantity and quality - we're going back very soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    29
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“That's what all the fuss was about!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Plain and simple best curry I've had by far. Walked in to a very pleasant greeting and waited for a table as it was full. Placed my order for myself my wife and son. 3 samosas to start with all the trimmings. Then came the delicious well flavoured tender lamb tikka. Top quality lamb and very lean to boot. Choice of 4 special as well as the main board. Went for the lamb off the bone Karahi. Was not disappointed. Melt in the mouth lamb, at a perfect medium temp which you could add fire to with fresh chilli's on the side or enhance the flavour with fresh ginger and lemon juice. Place is like a school cafeteria, but with the quality of food who cares. Can't wait for my next visit. Hopefully will have the other special on which looked gorgeous, some sort of lamb stew. Will be back soon. Thanks

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Manchester Institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Things that make life worthwhile...Eric's chip against Sunderland, Lamb Chops at the Kabana, The Simpsons (early years), Lamb on the Bone at the Kabana, The Sopranos, Ole's goal against Munich, the Kabana Chapatis, The Wire, the Kabana Chicken Biryiani...Been a regular at the Kabana forever (since it was over the road) - if you want great quality, straightforward food then then you really can't go wrong.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lamb curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

the best lamb curry around and the grill dishes and kebabs are very nice also the chappatis are made fresh while u wait amazing cheap and cheerful

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“chicken biryani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

one of the best chicken biryanis ever only one i have had better is me grans, the service is excellent the staf are amazing and u are served by the owner. fantastic

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabana also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Kabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.