We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian and classy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mezzaluna - CLOSED

Mezzaluna
613-615 Wilbraham Road | Chorlton Cum Hardy, Manchester M21 9AN, England
0161 8618880
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wales uk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Italian and classy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went here with friends, had a lovely meal, not your usual Pizza place. take the wife or girlfriend for a special night out they will love it. food was excellent and wine vary good prices.
had an amazing dessert. Saving up for our next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    4
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went to this restaurant with some friends on 9th March and was really busy but had great atmosphere. The restaurant is upstairs and really wasn't what we expected. It is very classy with nice table cloths and linen napkins, nice fresh flowers on the tables. We were impressed from the start. The service was very friendly, made us feel very welcome and the food was to die for. Would definately reccommend this restaurant and will definately be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fairly underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went to Mezzaluna on a Saturday night with a group of friends, as we were staying with one of the group who lived locally. The restaurant is up some stairs and is quite large once inside, with a homely relaxed atmosphere. We were seated on a table right beneath the serving hatch to the kitchen, so the lighting was a little stark, but not a massive problem. (The flickering bulbs above our table did leave us with sore heads though!)
We ordered wine which arrived pretty quickly and decided on our order. The food was not expensive - under £10 for pizza and pasta,and there was a massive (perhaps overly so) selection. We then waited, and waited...a good 30 minutes later our order was finally taken. 3 of us ordered the special starter of scallops, of which there were only 2 left. Again, no problem, and we added an order of calamari and decided to share them all between us. We waited another half an hour at least for the starters to arrive. The scallops were lovely, but the calamari, although clearly fresh out of the fryer, was bland and tasteless, even with the aioli dip. We ordered our mains, and you guessed it, more waiting. We had arrived at 8.10 and didn't receive our main courses until 10...
My cannelloni was nice but very standard - it could easily have come straight from the freezer and with only 1.5 tubes it was a pretty small portion too. My friends didn't fare much better, with the food being bland, uninspiring and in one case a little worrying. The only vegetarian in our party discovered a lump of meat (it looked like beef) in her vegetable pasta. (which was completely different to the dish she ordered anyway - no aubergine, but lots of peas??) Obviously she complained and although apologetic, our waiter disappeared for quite a while to speak to the manager (who never appeared) then went to speak to the kitchen who told her the meal was definitely veggie, but may have had something dropped in it whilst serving. Lovely. She was offered a free drink (she was only drinking lemonade) but she really had to push the point that she would not be paying for her meaty vegetarian meal. They did however cancel it from the bill. Sadly, if the food had arrived quicker, we would probably have ordered another bottle of wine and dessert, but the long wait (it wasn't even that busy) and vegetarian incident meant we left with a pretty diasppointing view of the place, and I would doubt any of us would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, I'll come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The atmosphere is a little spectral and dark, service is good and food better. I've tried pizza and dessert, both very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I went with my family to Mezza Luna on a Thursday teatime. We were the only ones there. The waiter was rather miserable and not very helpful. The garlic mushrooms were wonderful, which was a promising start, but the main pizza was bland and more like a supermarket pizza than an italian restaurant. The set menu was good value but the only dessert was lemon meringue pie which seemed very dated. Went there years ago and did not rate it but decided to give it another go. Still do not rate it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzaluna also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mezzaluna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.