We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meets basic requirements (nothing more)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Weston Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Weston Hall to your Saves list
Weston Hall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“meets basic requirements (nothing more)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This student housing facility, managed as a hotel/pension in summer, meets the basic needs: it is clean, there is a kettle with tea replaced daily, cleaning staff services the rooms each day... However the furniture and trimmings is very worn and shabby. Also, I second the opinion that banging doors are noisy.
There is WiFi in the lobby, but it also reached my room, which was a bonus. I was only one floor above the lobby.
I did not get breakfast (they charge 10 quid a day) but other guests there said it was really good.
The location is excellent, very close to Picadilly and the center of Manchester.
I would stay here again as long as I remain on a student's budget.

Room Tip: In my room, on 3rd floor (1 floor above lobby), I could pick up the WiFi signal normally available o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    19
    3
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
41
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Minutes' walk from Picadilly Station. Tiny dormitory room, but very sufficient, and great price. One complaint: noisy slamming doors in hallways kept waking me up. It would've been worse if more rooms had been occupied.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

These are student halls of residence and as you would expect from the room charges the rooms are very basic; standard single bed but comfortable enough, basic bath room (shower only). Also is a desk/office chair and wardrobe. Room was clean enough but showing good few signs of wear.

But for the cost the location is great, only a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly train station and 5-10 mins from main shops/bars areas. When we were there (weekend) it was very quiet on a night, i.e. no disturbances from either internal or external party people.

Staff in the halls were helpful as were the staff in the adjoining Manchester Conference Centre and associated hotel. Free wifi in the hotel lounge area as welll.

Breakfast was included in my £30 per night deal and was decent enough. Being a self service of hot "full English" ware and also croissants, etc and tea/coffee machines for numerous refills..
I would recommend this for short stay if you are on a budget and do not expect the rooms to be luxurious!

Room Tip: Think all rooms would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

My friend & I stayed at Weston Hall on a really busy weekend. We were extremely happy with the location, facilities and excellent price. Highly recommended accommodation!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

If you don't expect much, you won't be disappointed - decent for the price. My room actually had decent wifi even though they say there is no wifi there. There is also ethernet connection in the room through the uni, which seemed to work. Otherwise, free wifi in the Days' hotel lobby.

It was quite noisy: hallway doors slamming, water running, people chatting outside - bring earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Staff were so helpful and just deadly for such reasonable prices. I know they were the Days Hotel Staff that are on reception but we never once were left to feel anything but a guest at the hotel....

The rooms were clean and the ensuite was so handy. For the price, what you get is great. I mean how can you complain!! I loved the biscuits in the room, nice breakfast treat!!

Iv stayed in some different places on my travel, for lots of different prices and for some reason this place was one of the best because there were no nasty suprises and it was value for money

Room Tip: Get a BLT in the bar, with a beer!!! Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

It's a hall of residence - if you've been a student yourself or visited this sort of flat style hall before then you know the drill. A compact room with lots of storage and an ensuite pod-style shower room, toilet and basin. My room was a little rough around the edges with curtains that didn't quite meet, a missing drawer handle on the bedside cupboard and a stain on the industrial style carpet but it has students living in it for most of the year and it was just cosmetics really. It was cheap, in a good location and I just needed somewhere to crash that wasn't a room with ten other people sleeping in it! A got a night's sleep and privacy and would happily stay again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraws, General Manager at Weston Hall, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Can I ask you to advise me which room you were in whilst here, we can then have a look at the cosmetic issues you encountered in the room, however, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hall when you next visit Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Weston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hall

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Weston Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Weston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hall Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weston Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.