We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sloooooooow service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Podium Restaurant Bar & Lounge

Podium Restaurant Bar & Lounge
Hilton Manchester Deansgate | 303 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4LQ, England
44(0)161 870 1600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #421 of 1,766 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $36 - $144
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A casual dining experience, Podium offers guest intimate booth dining, with rich banquettes and Marble Floors. The cuisine is modern international, using local produce. Great for breakfast and ideal for a business lunch, Podium is also perfect for relaxed evening meal before heading to Cloud 23 for a cocktail.
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Sloooooooow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton hotel for a weekend in January. While my SO went for a massage I headed to the bar. I had to wait over 10 minutes to be served a pint despite being only one of two people at the bar on a Friday afternoon at 16:00. Not what I would normally expect in a 4 star hotel.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    48
    14
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randfontein, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restuarant provided buffet meals for the conference I attended. The food was great, lots of choice and there was always a vegetarian dish included. The food was tasty and fresh.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very poor service and below average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went with my wife for our wedding anniversary. Both ordered the venison for mains with honey roasted root vegetables. The waiter brought the meat without the vegetables and when I questioned it he said he was sorry but it would be another 10 minutes for the veg. I said that wasn't really acceptable so he disappeared and came back and said ok 5 mins. 5 mins later he returned with boiled green veg which was quite frankly terrible. When I questioned what this was he brandished the menu at me and said it was vegetables. When I pointed out that it was not what we ordered and I would like to see the supervisor he just fetched another waiter. This waiter agreed with us that he should not have brought this veg and got the manager. The manager "kindly" offered that we did not have to pay for the veg (which there was no way I would pay for anyway). The whole experience was very disappointing so I used the Hilton website to provide feedback and despite claims that they answer correspondence within one day, 10 days has passed and I have heard nothing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“All down to staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We also went on a voucher deal after experienceing a similar deal a few month ago which impressed us greatly. This time it was a reversal and although it was empty apart from another couple, food and service was poor.Even though we could choose anything from the Table D'Hote menu I felt the choice was limited. We both had sea bass as a main which was well cooked but swimming in a watery jus which spoiled the dish. I opted for a dessert which the waitress or the kitchen forgot about and so when it arrived after 25 minutes I had to leave it and retrieve my car or pay another £6.00 parking.As we'd spent two hours in an empty restaurant and feeling unable to enjoy the dessert we left. I was annoyed that we were served by several waitresses, rather than one or two waiters as on our previous visit. I poured the wine since no one offered to serve it for us, which is always nice when in a restaurant of this so called quality. The hotel and setting are fine and the music was agreeable and did create some atmosphere but I felt the service was not to a level I expect of a top rated hotel chain like Hilton and doubt we'll take advantage should this deal come up again.Just shows its difficult to recommend somewhere since its all down to staff on the day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill town
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Luxurious Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited The Podium midweek on a voucher deal and had a wonderful experience. Our waiter Howard was very attentive and informative and the food was exquisite. I chose the oxtail broth as a starter and it was the finest I have tasted. My good lady opted for a salmon and prawn roulade which she loved. Mains were smoked guinea fowl for me and sea bass for the missus. We enjoyed them so much so that we opted for a sweet as we were tempted by the smell of the fruit crumble being served at an adjacent table! Delightful.
Two small criticisms- the seating area is very open plan we were quite chilly whilst dining and charging £5 for a bottle of spring water is a bit steep.
That said we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and would gladly recommend The Podium for a lunch time treat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Podium Restaurant Bar & Lounge also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Podium Restaurant Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podium Restaurant Bar & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.