We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel, small touches could make it great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South to your Saves list
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runger Lane | Wilmslow Road, Manchester M90 5DL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
United States of Mirpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel, small touches could make it great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting family in Lancashire due to the fact all of the other hotels were fully booked as there was a concert at MEN arena.We normally stay at the Hilton or Marriot. We arrived early just to check in and then leave. Check in was very quick and the young lady (sorry bad with names - brunette girl - english) was extremely friendly and helpful. When we got back to the hotel at about 10:30pm the parking was almost nearly full. Luckily we found one space near the rear of the car park. We asked for an extra blanket and two extra pillows however the young lady at the reception desk forget about our request and left for the evening. I then called back at midnight as it had got quite cold and we travelling with our 17 month old and the lady (maybe spanish) apologised and brought us the extra blanket etc straight away.

We paid for breakfast which in my opinion is the best I have had from a budget hotel. The meet and greet staff were very friendly and helpful. however the waitress (black uniform -Maybe Thai nationality) was very very rude. I complained to my wife about her to which she told me that she had also been rude to her.

Overall, I think there 4 small things this hotel brand can do to improve;
1. I small fridges in the rooms (very important for medication and milk for children. I had to buy a small fridge from Argos and take it with me)
2. Put more lighting in the bedroom (very very low)
3. Make the beds a teeny weeny bit slightly bigger
4. Tell the waitress at breakfast to be less rude and smile once in a while

Would I stay here again?? Honestly, yes I would.

Room Tip: nice views of aeroplanes at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    467
    151
    38
    28
See reviews for
413
542
106
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and can't believe we stayed at the same hotel. Yes, the rooms are nice, the location is good for the airport, but it was the worst night's sleep I'd had in a long time. On walking into the room we initially thought the window was open due to the loudness of the traffic noise. Unfortunately, it wasn't & we had to put up with the noise all night (I had to resort to stuffing loo roll in my ears!). Also, the bed was rock hard, so I woke the next morning feeling bruised. On a positive, breakfast was good & the young girl seeing to the breakfasts was polite, cheerful & friendly. However, can't see us going back here. Have previously used the Travelodge on the same site & had a much better night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to provide this due to the noise disturbances you encountered throughout your stay.

Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great budget hotel near Manchester Airport. Bar man in the hotel really friendly and service with a warm smile. Rooms are perfect for a few nights stay.


Although there are other hotels nearer to the airport, which admittedly I haven't stayed in, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked 2 rooms at this hotel prior to our flight to orlando. The rooms were big and comfortable with a good shower, the beds were comfy and the price when booked in advance made it a great stay. The location is just a 5 mins drive from the car park at manchester airport. We had breakfast in the morning which catered for all our needs. We will stay here again on our next long haul flight from manchester

Room Tip: Choosing a high floor as there was a lot of traffic outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed the night before an early morning flight from Manchester Airport and had booked primarily because of the price (but also previous positive experience with the brand).

The hotel is well located, 5 minutes' drive from the main on-site parking and a stone's throw from the motorway access routes. Slightly confusingly, there are two buildings making up the site (Premier Inn North and Premier Inn South) and it wasn't immediately clear in which of them we needed to check in. We plumped for the building to the north and were lucky - I don't know if the other building mirrors this but it wouldn't be much fun traipsing back and forth if it's not.

Check in was very easy - a simple matter of placing the same credit card used to reserve the room into an ATM style kiosk. The option of adding Wi-Fi and (an overpriced) breakfast was given at that point but we didn't avail ourselves. Parking was also paid at this point - £5 for an overnight stay seemed pretty fair.

Within 5 minutes of our arrival, we were settled in our clean and spacious room. The double bed was comfy with a choice of firm or soft pillows and the room was also equipped with a desk, comfy chair and plenty of hanging space. The usual hairdryer, tiny kettle and tea/coffee were present and correct but the flat screen TV (which seemed a bit small for the size of the room) was oddly placed so that it wasn't readily visible from one side of the bed. The bathroom was clean with decent towels and the usual wall mounted soap/shampoo dispenser with excellent water pressure in the shower.

We attempted to visit the restaurant to grab something to eat before bedding down but a very large coach party had booked the whole restaurant for a group buffet and the wait was going to be excessive. The reception assistance was good though and we visited a nearby pub (The Romper) on their advice - the food there was of good quality and of reasonable price so well worth a thought if the wait at the hotel is long.

Our night's sleep was generally good although it was disturbed by screaming children running up and down the corridors at midnight (why weren't they in bed?!) - once they'd calmed down, things were better with no temperature or noise problems to speak of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed one night, for early flight. As you would expect from a Premier Inn, big clean and comfortable rooms. Did eat in restaurant, which was difficult as menu was limited for Coeliac's so perhaps they could address this in the future. Also would suggest asking for upper floor rooms as I did find that the noise from above did prevent a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floors to help prevent noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosse le Vivien, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Location and value for money are what continue to bring me back to this hotel before flying out of Manchester airport. My elderly mother and I arrived at the station and took a taxi to the hotel ( cheaper not to pre-book this) and then the hotel booked a taxi to take us back to the airport the following morning. This all worked well for us and hardly more expensive than the shuttle and so much more convenient.
As most reviewers we find the rooms spacious, beds comfy, shower room with heated towel rail is great and tea tray is always welcome ( tho no biscuits this time).
Used the restaurant for dinner and breakfast this time, for the first time and took the deal option for the both of us. The meal option was a bad idea for my mother who only eats a small amount, so going direct from the menu, just one or two courses would have been better for her.
We had time for breakfast and the choice was good and although we normally eat once thro security in the airport, we are glad we didn't this time as we took a long time to check in and get thro security.
Our only complaint was the piped music in the restaurant, it was far too loud and thumping. We noticed that we were seated very close to the ceiling speakers and that this wasn't the case for all tables, so would suggest you look at that when you are taken to a table! We did ask for the volume to be reduced but it didn't seem to happen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South

Address: Runger Lane | Wilmslow Road, Manchester M90 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
#21 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#23 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.