We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Staff very helpful and friendly, extremly clean, great location, great food and drink at reasonable price. Perfect rooms and not overly expensive. Lots of parking and transport opptions.

Would recommend and definatly go again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your recommendation. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    528
    156
    33
    13
See reviews for
185
580
75
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

What more can I say than "wow", we had an brilliant time from check in to going back for our luggage 6 hours after checking out. The staff here are a credit to the hotel.The bedroom was clean, comfortable and luxurious (we had a deluxe club room). Not the first time we have stayed here and this time was just as good as the first, and we will be going back.

Room Tip: Book early and get a deluxe club room, worth every penny / cent etc etc!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I'm delighted to hear that your experience at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre impressed! Thank you so much for your lovely comments, which I'll be sure to pass on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather


M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and could not fault it. top tip - upgrade to the club room

Location:
The hotel is situated in the centre of Manchester being a 10minute walk to Manchester Piccadilly Station and 5 minute walk Manchester Victoria Train Station. The Schudhill Bus station is across the road. Shopping is on the doorstep with the arndale shopping centre 2 minutes walk away. We chose to eat in the many establishments that surround the area, but the hotel does have its own restaurant, worth a look. The print works centre is also 5 minutes walk and is great for a drink at night.

The room:
As it was a special occasion, I choose to go with the upgrade to a "Club room" The hotel has standard rooms, club rooms and suites. I must say that for the price of the upgrade, the Club room is a great option and we will choose this option when we return.
The Club rooms have their own floor in the hotel and are very specious. Large double/king/queen bed, with large en-suite with bath and shower (separately) large flat screen TV, desk, ironing board, safe and lounge chair. The room also had floor-ceiling windows which gave a spectacular view over the city. Being in the club room you also have the added bonus of receiving 1 free movie on the television (from their selection (be warned though, if you pause the film you cannot continue it the next night)) also included was the use of bath ropes and slippers (which you were able to keep) hospitality tray and bottles spring and sparkling water.
The room was very comfortable, if i had to pick a fault, it would be that the room was a little hot, and woke up very warm in the morning.

In addition to the great room, being on the club floor, you had access to the club room which was a lounge/kitchen just for the guests staying in the club rooms. inside the lounge was various TV’s, sofas and i think a printer/fax (business facilities) the kitchen was well stocked with soft drinks, teas/coffee's and light snack which you could help yourself to throughout the day for free. At night there were hot snacks and alcoholic drinks, again, free of charge which was a nice touch. The club room also served a complimentary continental breakfast in the morning which was great, didn't need anything else unless you were specifically wanting a cooked breakfast.

Overall the hotel was a 5 star visit and would be happy to recommend this hotel as a Manchester city break/business trip to anyone. Don't be put off by the hotel being a chain; it had great service and quality!

Room Tip: upgrade to the club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
What a lovely review - I am glad that you chose the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre for your special occasion, and that your visit lived up to expectations. Your comments about the hotel and staff are very kind - thank you.

I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you both back soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived fairly late at this hotel, after 10pm. My husband had already checked in earlier. We stayed here for one night while on an over night trip to celebrate a friend's birthday.

The hotel was easy to get to from Manchester Piccadilly and seemed within walking distance from the main town centre.

The room was clean with a nice ensuite, comfortable bed, liked that the room had an iron and ironing board. Reasonable hair dryer too!

The breakfast service was ok. Reasonable selection and quality. The staff were friendly and pretty efficient.

Would stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather


M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here on 22nd&23rd March with 11 friends. I arrived at 9.20am as I waited for the others arrived, from the airport, from Aberdeen. The receptionist checked to see if any of our rooms were ready, so we could leave our luggage. The ones we were to be allocated weren't ready, so they moved things around, allocated us a different floor and we got our rooms as soon as the others arrived. GREAT SERVICE. We were in the Arndale centre by 10am!
The rooms were outstanding, very, very clean and well equiped. The twin rooms that were booked had 2 double beds. Myself and a friend had been down to Manchester to check out various hotels before we booked them. The Crowne Plaza was the only city centre hotel offering 2 double beds for a twin room The bathroom was brilliant. As well as the bath there was also a showere cubicle,
There was a huge chioce at breakfast, both hot and cold choices. The waiting staff topped up tea and coffee as was required.
We had dinner on the Saturday night in the hotel, which was very nice A good choice on the set menu and a fantastic a la carte one. The only down side was the puddings were a bit slow in coming out.
The hotel helped make a fantastic memorable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
My sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Needless to say, I was delighted to read your comments about the staff, and the room, and I look forward to sharing this great feedback with all of the team.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our second time staying in this hotel and can not fault it, we were offered an upgrade on arrival. The location is fantastic for shopping, amenities in the room are great and breakfast all fantastic. Would choose this hotel every time we stay in Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
On behalf of all the team here at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre I would like to thank you for your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back for your third stay soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I found the hotel to be one of the better ones that I've stayed in when in Manchester. The staff were excellent and very polite and helpful. The rooms are to be honest the same as any other 4 star hotel so it would be unfair to either big them up or knock them down. I found the front desk staff very willing to help and the whole place had a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your very kind feedback and completing this review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments towards our staff, these will be shared with the team.

I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#7 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#14 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.