We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gio Ristorante

Gio Ristorante
5-7 Lower Mosley St, Manchester m2 3ws, England
1612282030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #701 of 1,763 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lillehammer, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We ate here one evening, and the food and the service was very good. The ice cream for dessert was a little disappointing, but the chocolate was fabulous. We found it a bit expensive, but situated in the middle of the tourist area it is what you get.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    74
    37
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Food & Good Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The 3 of us decided to eat here - all content with Italian food! My Vitello Al Funghi namely, escallopes of veal cooked with mushrooms, fresh cream, white wine and a touch of tomato was delicious with seasonal vegetables and new potatoes! The Ravioli ‘Mamma Mia’, meat filled pasta cooked with peas, mushrooms, ham and fresh cream and the Spaghetti Carbonara served with bacon in an egg yolk, parmesan and fresh cream sauce was enjoyed by both my colleagues, although I do think mine was best! Wine and beer reasonably priced and excellent service by the staff made this a really enjoyable restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, fast and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff were very friendly and the food arrived quickly. Nice size portions, tasty, well cooked food and attentive service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pre theatre meal at Gios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having seen this restuarant on out previous visit to a Manchester theatre and upon reading the pre theatre menu we decided to book a table ( 5.30p.m. to give ample time prior to the performance) for our next visit to The Opera House for Ghost. We Emailed the restuarant and received confirmation of our booking very promptly. Upon arrival we received a very warm welcome by the numerous members of waiting staff and were promptly given a table by the window. The menu arrived straight away and we were asked immediately for our drinks order - we decided upon a bottle of the Pinot Grigio which arrived at the table very promptly with a wine cooler. As the wine arrived yet another waiter arrived for our food order, fortunately seeing the menu previously we knew what we were going to eat so placed our order of pate and caprese salad followed by two steaks. Before we could take a sip of our wine the starters arrived which we both thoroughly enjoyed, though we did feel quite intimidated by the constant flow a variety of waiting staff walking by the table. As soon as you placed your cutlery on the table a waiter or waitress pounced to clear your plate, fill up the half filled wine glass and before we knew it the steak arrived. This was delicious and well cooked by the kitchen staff. Staff were attentive, though possibly due the fact that it was early evening and quiet when we first arrived rather over attentive. We were shell shocked by the experience and rather disappointed that our pre theatre meal had passed us by in a flash.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Ate here pre concert but 5 mins too late for pre theatre meal, good meal, good portions , good service. Would visit again. Would recommend

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio Ristorante also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gio Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.