We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building and room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Manchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abode Manchester to your Saves list
Abode Manchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for work. I was upgraded to a junior suite which was beautiful. The building itself is an old mill and has lots of character. The bed was huge and comfy - the room large and well furnished. Although very near a main road it wasn't too noisy. Staff were helpful too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    288
    118
    44
    22
See reviews for
41
368
47
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Came to stay here as a treat due to dining at Michael Caines Restaurant.
We were not dissapointed, beautiful spacious room and bathroom with lots of character (although this was a superior room)
Would definitely reccomend it

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Abode hotel in Manchester.
The building is lovely and has been sympathetically restored from what looks to have been an old textile factory.
The rooms are well appointed and the restaurant is spacious, quiet and comfortable
The breakfasts were as good as we have ever had
But what made the stay so memorable were the staff - reception, maintenance and restaurant staff - all included.
Nothing was too much trouble and they were genuinely concerned about us - thank to all
We firmly recommend this hotel for any Manchester stay

Room Tip: A room overlooking the street is more interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the ABode Manchester. I am delighted your stay was enjoyable and the team ensured your time with us was memorable.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is set in a beautiful cotton mill, the staircase is lovely - a must to climb really!

Our room was a 'Desireable' which they upgraded for £10 per night when we arrived. The room was lovely, with 3 Chesterfield Chairs, a Super King (3 x Single Bed really!), the bathroom had a nice bath and an amazing rain drop like shower. The thing I loved about this place is the art on the wall and the style. If you like quirky rather than clinical and modern and are looking for a hotel that is very central (5 min walk to Train, Tram, Shopping, Canal St) then this is the hotel for you!

My only negative was they forgot a paper one morning, but were very apologetic so no big deal!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with my husband as a treat and upgraded to one of the suites on the day. The room (Winston) was fantastic - everything you could want - massive bed, complimentary goodies and very quiet (was worried it would be noisy but slept really well). Great reception staff and very interesting building. Downsides are the toiletries in the bedroom - seemed very cheap - not the sort you want to sneak into your luggage (!) and I went out and bought my own shampoo and bubble bath! Also the breakfast - it may have been 10 o'clock when we went down for breakfast but it was a sad offering that awaited us. Slices of curled up cheese and ham, cheap looking cereals and orange (?) segments which if I had blind tasted them I wouldn't have known what they were!! Messy service areas and no crockery around - shame. Couldn't wait to get out of there. So on the whole do book one of the suites if you are looking for a special night away but go somewhere else for breakfast!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed in the sister hotel in Chester which is lovely. This was different, built in an old factory so your room is built around girders and pipes. This has a nice old feel to it. The rooms are clean and pleanty of room. I found the beds comfortable and had a good nights sleep.

I will say the breakfast is steep at £11.50. When I stayed at Chester that included everything including cereal etc. If you wanted anything else except what you order I.e. I ordered a full English if I wanted anything from the continental including cereal it was an extra £5. Now the £11.50 got me tea, orange juice, some toast and a full English. The Full English was 1 sausage,1 rasher of bacon, 1 mushroom, 1 slice of black pudding, 1 tomato, beans and an egg. I could have got more then that in the pub next door for half the price.

Not as nice as the Chester hotel but I would stay again. Probably wouldn't order breakfast there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing the ABode Manchester. Whilst delighted you enjoyed the hotel I am disappointed that you felt breakfast was inadequate. Pricing and offerings should be consisent across all of our properties so I will look into your comments further. Thank you.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

It was an easy walk from the train station, and close to shops and attractions. Our room was a bit small, but otherwise comfortable. Dinner at the Michael Caine restaurant in the basement was a little pretentious, but tasty. Breakfast (an additional eight pounds) was skimpy, and we had to choose between the cold table and a hot choice. We've been in many, many hotels where both would have been included in the room price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Manchester

Address: 107 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#34 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Abode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.