We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic unforgettable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Manchester

Save Saved
You added Abode Manchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abode Manchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2DB, England (Manchester City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 117 hotels in Manchester
1 review
“Fantastic unforgettable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my boyfriends birthday. We did the step 2 package. The room was amazing with robes/ a Nintendo wii/ DVD player and a super king bed.
We dined in Michael Caines which was much nicer than many Michelin star restaurants we have been to. The staff were all fantastic and the location couldn't be better.
Will recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing reference following your recent stay with ourselves here at the ABode.
The entire team will be most appreciative of your feedback and I am personally delighted we contributed to your special evening.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    195
    80
    26
    16
See reviews for
28
248
38
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked the hotel because of its location and encouraging references and couldn't agree more. As for location it is just at there very heart of Manchester but we never had the feeling that it was noisy. Building, entrance and rooms are very nice and you see that they paid attention to small details that make the stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Building is Impressive. The hotel is inside a Grade II listed Victorian cotton merchant's wholesale warehouse. The original features have been retained, the staircases are very impressive. There are a range of rooms, ranging from standard to Luxury. The standard rooms are functional but nothing special. There always seems to be some humming noise or dripping/banging noise from the pipes which is slightly annoying when you're trying to sleep.

The bathroom has no shelves or anywhere to put your wash bag or toiletries. So you either had to leave these on the floor or leave them on the bed and walk in and out to get things.

Staff are efficient and informative.

The hotel is in a great location, just across the road from Manchester Piccadilly station and an easy 10 minutes walk from all the shops.

Like most hotels in the centre of Manchester, there is no car park. There is an NCP round the corner in Chatham Street which is £18 per day.

There is an adjoining Michael Caines Restaurant which has good quality food and also a bar & Griill and a late night lounge bar.

Breakfast. Good selection of continental with a choice of cooked food to order as opposed to helping yourself from a buffet. I had the eggs Benedict which was the best i have ever had. Really well presented and very tasty!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I took my boyfriend here for his 20th birthday as a surprise! Before my stay I emailed about any extras they do for surprises and they emailed back saying they could organise a £50 bottle champagne for the room or they could request a complimentary upgrade for me but I wouldn't be told until I checked in! When I checked in I mentioned this and they were happy to upgrade us- for free!! They didn't just upgrade us to one room above but 2, the 'enviable suite' which was amazing! The room had a wii and blueray player! With lovely seating areas, a massive bed and a comfortable bathroom! As well as a complimentary Tray of snacks and drinks! The room looked lovely and was very comfortable! We phoned down and booked in to Michael Caines restaurant which was very nice! A little expensive! But worth it to say you've been there!! If the lamb is on the menu when you go- HAVE IT! Some of the best lamb I've ever tasted!
Overall, a really lovely stay and clean, comfortable, looks good and the staff were all very friendly and happy to assist with anything! I would definitely stay again! Thank you again to Danielle (I think her name was) for being so helpful and upgrading us!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review of the hotel. I am delighted you and your boyfriend had a wonderful experience and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future. (Danielle is delighted too!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed alone as a birthday present to myself, and I was very impressed. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the hotel itself looked fabulous, and I absolutely loved my room - tastefully decorated, restful and with prompt room service. Loved the tuck box and the delicious smelling toiletries, too. I also had cocktails and a two course meal in the Cafe Bar and Grill, which I really enjoyed...was only sorry I couldn't eat it all. I would definitely recommend it - I didn't want to leave and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Happy Birthday!! - I am thrilled you decided to treat yourself by staying with us at the ABode. It is fantastic to read we contributed to such a wonderful occasion.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was surprised by how close this hotel was to the train station.

My room was very clean and surprisingly large for being the UK. Bathroom had a towel warmer. Thats different. Lots of restaurants nearby and a mall just down the road.

Had breakfast at the hotel. It was about 20 pounds. Little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and I was very disappointed with the bar grill. I received a warm and friendly welcome and found the room bright, clean and Spacious. Dinner was a disaster, I ordered soup which was quite delicious however I am sorry I did not stop at the soup.

I was eating with a customer and we both ordered burgers which arrived and looked appetising however when we sliced the burgers in half they were raw, the buns actually turned red with the blood. A very friendly and apologetic waitress took our burgers away and advised that we would have a 12 minute wait, which was not a problem. The second burgers delivered had not improved, I showed the waitress my burger which was oozing blood when squeezed. This time she took them away and returned with them now very over cooked, the chef has simply took the sliced burgers and cooked them again placed the two halls into a new bun. I should have sent the meal back but was embarrassed because I was eating with my customer who had not had a starter and was by now very hungry.

Breakfast was good but a little expensive.

The hotel is a very nice hotel but I will think twice about booking again as the food was not up to standard.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Manchester

Address: 107 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Manchester City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#26 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Manchester 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Abode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.