We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabi Sushi and Noodle Bar

Wasabi Sushi and Noodle Bar
63 Faulkner street | Chinatown, Manchester M1 4FF, England
01612287288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #212 of 1,757 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Sushi, Dessert, Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese, Noodle, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I really like this sushi bar and I have been many times. Set menu B is £8.50 (three plates from the train plus a main) and amazing value. The choice is fantastic and the staff are happy to help you if you can't find what you're looking for.

My favourite main is the grilled chicken teppan yaki rice.

The atmosphere is great and the televisions are a strange yet welcome installation!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    109
    33
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place was my first experience with sushi and I really didnt know what to expect. I'm so glad I visited though because now I love it and wont go anywhere else.

The staff are really friendly and chatty and will help you if you have no idea about sushi or what to order. The place is super clean - they wipe up and clear plates as soon as you have finished.

The king prawn nigiri is delicious and they are always super fast with bringing you something that isnt on the belt.

Its brilliant value for money and the set menu's are fantastic. I always leave feeling so full and happy.

If you like sushi then you should give this place a try. You wont be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good sushi, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Went today with my girlfriend, both got the set menu which gives you 10 plates and a miso soup for £14 each.
Really enjoyed the food and the price was quite good compared to some other sushi places.
Will go again when in manchester.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Fantastic and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Went here as usual on the basis of trip advisor reviews. Seeing as it's reasonably central and easy to get to I came here.

Came at about 12pm and was seated promptly. The decor was typically what you find in YO shushi and other decent sushi places, a conveyor belt system and seating around this. The desserts are seated on the first floor which is a bit odd and bothersome, perhaps why hardly anyone will go there after their mains.

Ordering:

Menu was somewhat complicated and no indication of how the system worked. We ended up asking them about how much the grey plates were e.t.c.

The set menus if you calculated were not that good an offer than if you ordered the grey plate son their own as I don't think Miso soup is worth more than 3 pounds.

They also have 30% offerr on the a la carte menu which was NOT TAKEN off our bill. You need to make sure you ask for it either before or when the bill is given.

Food:
They had a reasonable selection from basic california rolls to tofu based dishes. i went for 7 plates and a few menu items, the soft shell crab and gyoza was pretty good as was the fried fish.

Service:

was pretty standard and didn't notice a problem.

Summary:
Good nothing can wrong food here, decent prices as my non offer bill came to 26 pounds for 2 including green tea. Make sure you are aware of the offers currently. No problems with service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“sushi deals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

i frequent wasabi with friends as well as family but always the chinatown cos the service is better. good deals. nice staff. nice atmosphere. never go to printworks outlet!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi Sushi and Noodle Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Wasabi Sushi and Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabi Sushi and Noodle Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.