We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice buffet lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pan Asia - CLOSED

Pan Asia
45-47 Faulkner Street, Manchester M1 4EE, England
+44 (0)161 236 6868
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $57
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A really nice buffet lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The quality of some city centre Manchester Chinese buffet restaurants can leave a little to be desired with over-cooked food and appalling service. This is the opposite. Their lunchtime buffet is really good. It isn't the usual style of buffet menu with some really tasty Chinese dumplings and pork dishes as well as the more popular main meals. They also do a really good selection of starters, and the service is absolutely excellent. What was really noticeable too is that the staff were happy to explain dishes to people and make recommendations based on their likes/dislikes. Give it a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“It's ok but nothing better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Think it's had it's day. Visited mid week for lunch and very quiet.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great Sunday buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We've been here's few times for the buffet on a Saturday or Sunday. Th food is fresh, tasty and there is a good selection. Last time we went I think it was £8 per head for as much as you can eat. The food is delicious.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“nothing to shout about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

went to pan asia for lunch and the buffet is pretty pricey - when we went previously there seemed to be alot of business/ working people there for lunch and there was a mad rush for everything. this time it was quieter as we went near the end of the service. there was sushi - which was ok, but nothing special. the only seafood stuff besides the salmon and prawn on the sushi was tempura prawns and also a stirfry prawn dish. the selection was standard for most buffets - with chicken wings, ribs, spring rolls etc as starters and the normal stir fries in the main section. the food was replenished very sparingly as it was near the end of the service and there were not many other clients in with us. dessert was quite limited - there were some mango-y things and some fruit as well as a chocolatey dessert. the ice cream was rock hard! i had to ask my husband to help me with them and was actually tempted to get the staff to get the ice cream for me. all in all, not really worth the money for the selection - it seems like people are paying for a slightly nicer ambience compared to other buffet restaurants than better food!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for a buffet lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Visited Pan Asia with a friend last week for lunch while in Manchester. This was absolutely perfect; a good value buffet lunch with a good variety of food on offer. The staff were efficient and polite and the meal was good value.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pan Asia also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan Asia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.