We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great thai cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaophraya - Manchester

Chaophraya - Manchester
19 Chapel Walks, Manchester M2 1HN, England
+44 161 832 8342
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 1,825 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $78
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
South Lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great thai cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

First time for me, having attended with work colleagues. great atmosphere albeit music was very loud where we were seated. We opted for the set banquet which consisted of rice, duck curry, spicy king prawns, beef dish and pork belly. Food was very good and service was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias D, Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you you enjoyed your dinning experience with us and we hope to see you back soon in the near future. Thanks Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    325
    127
    64
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Team Event - Cooking Class for 11”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked the Thai Cooking Class for my team and everyone was absolutely excited.
I was very pleased with the very professional and swift reply by email when I organized the entire event (out of Munich). A big “Thank you” to Tobias Duczenko who really helped to make this an unforgettable team building event. We even had personalized aprons (additional cost) with Chaophraya and our company logo on it.
I could decide on the menu and we went for Golden Bags - Prawn and chicken, Thai Green Chicken or Prawn Curry and Banana Fritta.
We were split into two teams and each team had its own chef to explain, show and help us cooking. I liked the timing and alternation between cooking (at the separate tables with one Wok) and sitting, eating and have fun. The entire event last almost three hours and we ended up at the nice bar downstairs.
We very much enjoyed the evening. The entire Chaophraya team was very kind and of course the self-cooked food was delicious … I strongly recommend this as a great team even. I was even so impressed that I finally wrote my first TripAdvisor review!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias D, Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank-you. We are glad that you enjoyed the corporate team building day and we hope to see you again in the future, when you are back in Manchester. Thanks Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Cookery Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have reviewed Chaophraya restaurant before but after doing a cooking class here on Saturday I wanted to review that as I found it difficult to find much info about it online.

We arrived at 11.30 to a welcome drink and filled out a form and waited for everyone to arrive. We were then led up to the restaurant upstairs where the cooking class was to take place (not in the kitchen bit). There were 8 of us taking part altogether and we were split into 2 teams of 4, with a chef each to show us the ropes.

For starters we all made pad thai noodles – very easy and not at all how I would expect them to be made (ketchup was involved!!). The chef first showed us how to make the sauce for the pad thai, then actually pull it all together and make final dish which we all had a taste of. Then we all had a go at making our own – it was great! Tasted just like it does in the restaurant. Word of warning though – don’t eat all of your first course because then you’ll be full up for the remaining 2! I didn’t realise they will give you what you don’t finish in takeaway boxes – definitely a good idea.

The next course was a thai red curry. Our chef had us all involved in the chopping etc for making the paste, then we watched him make the curry from there on in. Very interesting and again some unexpected ingredients were used. Once the curry was made we all sat down to eat it with some lovely steamed rice. Again, it’s far too much so make sure you get takeaway boxes for your leftovers.

For dessert it was fried bananas. They were amazing – so much better than what you’d get in a Chinese restaurant. We all watched the chef make a very quick batter using coconut milk and water, rather than milk, and then we dipped our bananas in the mixture then rolled in coconut and sesame seeds. The chef then fried for us (probably couldn’t trust us with all that hot oil!!) and we then had a choice of toppings – syrup, chocolate sauce, ice cream.

All in all, a great day which was well worth the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias D, Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your in-depth review about our cooking school, we are glad that you you enjoyed the day with us and we hope to see you back soon in the near future. Thanks Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great venue for parties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We came here for a party for our daughter. We booked our own room which made it quite private. the food here is really good even though you need to select a group menu for larger groups. There is flexibility for people who have dietary requirements. The only downside is that drinks are reasonably expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias D, Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you you enjoyed your dinning experience with us and we hope to see you back soon in the near future. Thanks Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

for a chain restaurant they food here is excellent thai food and close to proper thai cuisine. Well presented and a great atmosphere.
watty

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias D, Manager at Chaophraya - Manchester, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi Watty, Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you you enjoyed your dinning experience with us and we hope to see you back soon in the near future. Thanks Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaophraya - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Chaophraya - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaophraya - Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.