We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomes muddy boots!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn

Red Lion Inn
Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
+44 (0)1386 840760
Improve this listing
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Welcomes muddy boots!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Having just enjoyed a circular walk taking in Broad Campden, Paxford and Ebrington, we arrived in Chipping Campden and were keen to find a bite to eat. Walking along the high street, we noticed the sign outside the Red Lion saying muddy boots welcome and knew this must be the place for us!

Entering the flagstone bar with real fire, we were shown to a table by the friendly staff and ordered Lamb Shank and home made fish cakes. Whilst we'd expected standard pub grub, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. And the sticky toffee pudding with real vanilla ice cream was especially good. Washed down with IPA beer. Very friendly staff made it an enjoyable stop before we prepared for our final trek back to Broad Campden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    41
    28
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We sat by the fire which was lovely as it was freezing outside. We both ordered beef Sunday roast and it was delicious . 2 big pieces of meat, roast potatoes , mash, 2 Yorkshire puddings, plenty of gravy and selection of veg to share. The lady even noticed the fire was going out and added more logs. Lovely pub atmosphere, staff very attentive. Great value for money would have loved to sample pudding but could not fit it in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Red Lion, Chipping Campden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Warm, very welcoming Public House. The family run Pub offers a good Menu of plain home cooking. Bed & Breakfast is available.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just popped in without booking. Luckily they could fit us in as they were fully booked later on. Ordered garlic mushrooms, lamb shank, duck breast, cheesy garlic bread. All incredibly well cooked, lovely fresh veg and absolutely delicious. No room for desert. Would go back anytime. Great menu and lovely setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable for a drink or two”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We didn't eat here but had a few drinks and a game or three of pool. Friendly staff and a good location.
There is a quieter area with open fires at the front and another bar area at the back with a pool table, darts board etc.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.