We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cotswold Grill

The Cotswold Grill
The Cotswold House Hotel | The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
+44 (0)1386 840330
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $65
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the luxurious Cotswold House in the centre of Chipping Campden, The Cotswold Grill is the hub of the hotel, serving drinks and meals throughout the day. The more laidback sister of the elegant Dinning Room, The Cotswold Grill boasts the same kitchen team, under the expert guidance of Head Chef Dave Watts, winner of the Good Food Guide Chef to Watch Award. The Cotswold Grill has its own street entrance, an open fire and bar, and a separate area for private dining overlooking the stunning glass sculpture. The epicentre of The Cotswold Grills chic and contemporary decor is the sweeping bar, which is the perfect place to read the papers and enjoy a cocktail or coffee before sitting down for your meal.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Basic menu with pretty average food. When you get over charged and then under charged you feel like you are doing them a favour by pointing it all out, and being honest. I would not eat here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

52% Recommend
    22
    15
    17
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate at the Grill during our stay at the hotel and overall enjoyed the food and experience. We had mains and dessert and both my wife and I enjoyed it. My only negative comment is the decor seems a little tired and could do with a face lift to give it a more impressive feel.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsclere, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not supposed to be a fast food restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went here as part of a package with the Cotswold House Hotel, within which the Grill resides. We had an acceptable meal from a menu that was brief but interesting and fairly priced though the steaks at £25 were on the high side. The steak was good as was the sea bass.
The only down side was we felt we were being rushed through the meal with staff constantly trying to move us on to the next phase!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The waiting staff was very attentive and presentation of the food lovely. We had burgers and fish and chips, which were good, but not great. Still, the atmosphere and staff made up for it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate here after the day at Cheltenham races. The food was superb and the service without fault. Nice wine list and all in congenial surroundings with open log fire

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cotswold Grill also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Been to The Cotswold Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cotswold Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.