We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub/restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eight Bells

Eight Bells
Church Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6JG, England
+44 (0)1386 840371
Improve this listing
Price range: $61 - $61
Cuisines: English, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
bracknell berkshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great pub/restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Probably the best pub in the town.
Always busy both at the bar and the food restaurant area.
Great host (Neil).
Bar staff friendly and welcoming.
Good selection of local beers/ales Ect.
Worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    153
    46
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really friendly, welcoming pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had dinner at the Eight Bells last week - a group of 5 plus dog in the bar area and we had a fabulous time.

The food was excellent as was the service and we felt really well looked after. Our dog was also welcomed which was good for us too.

The pub was nicely busy with a good atmosphere and we shall certainly visit again when in the area.

Chipping Campden itself is a beautiful place and we shall certainly be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips at the Eight Bells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed a pint and fish and chips at the Eight Bells. Very conveniently located just off the High Street. Very quaint.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good choice for lunch in Chipping Campden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food was pretty good though not unusual. A convenient location if you're visiting Chipping Campden for the day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a very pleasant evening at the Eight Bells. Food was good and the service excellent. We hadn't booked so were lucky that they could accommodate us for an evening meal. Restaurant very pleasant and lively atmosphere in the pub section.

Would recommend spending an evening (or two) here, whether eating there or not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eight Bells also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Eight Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eight Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.