We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings

Kings
The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
+44 (0)1386 840256
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Relaxed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We tried their steak night special, just a main meal, plus bottle of house wine, £32.00 for two - great value.

Steak was a bit hit or miss, mine being more medium than medium/rare, but my partners was perfectly cooked. Came with chips, mushrooms, and onion rings (which were excellent). Service friendly and efficient, and the place was busy (we ate in the bistro/bar area), relaxed but smart venue.

Think they missed trick by not offering a starter or sweet menu for a little extra - but can't complain about the value.

Overall worth a try if in the area and the specials are on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford Middx
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From when we booked to the last sip of coffee the service was great. Even though the restauant was full the service was good, the food hot and of a high standard.
Not cheap but good for the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Bistro @ The Kings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate in the Bistro section of the Kings. Smart pleasantly appointed area with an attractive bar, which seemed popular. It was a Friday night so the Bistro, despite it being early, was quite busy. We opted for the Friday Night Fish and Chips, which includes a small glass of wine, a small beer or a soft drink. The wine was good quality for a house wine. Decent portion of fish in rather too much batter served with a tasty pot of pea purée. Hand cut chips which were poor, slightly under cooked inside, a touch greasy and definitely not crisp. Not rocket science these days to serve good chips, so this was disappointing hence the lower rating. Other than the chips the meal was good value for money. Service efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A cold night in Chipping Campden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently I had to travel with colleagues to an urgent meeting in Chipping Campden. Our hotel was cold and cheerless so we decided to eat at the Kings Hotel in the middle of the town. As we walked in from falling snow, we were warmly greeted and ushered smoothly into the restaurant. The menu is always interesting here and that night was no exception. After very filling starters, I opted for the cod with leek risotto and unusually a braised beef jus.This really worked extremely well. My colleagues tried the lamb which looked equally delicious. With a good bottle of wine to hand,the evening passed very quickly and by the end of the meal we were extremely mellow.
What a pity we hadn't been able to stay at the Kings in the first place. If there is a next time you can be sure we will be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and myself were visiting Chipping Campden and decided to have the lunchtime special (2 course £12.50 3 course £16.50)at The Kings in the bar section.
I had the Smoked Mackerel Pate,Smoked Salmon Rillets,Horseradish Coleslaw and Watercress for starter followed by Fillet of Salmon,Saffron Linguine and Wild Rocket and finished with Apple Frangipane Tart with Clotted Cream.
My wife started with Sauted Chicken Livers and Confit Wings,Bread Sauce and Crispy Capers then Roasted Vegetable Tian,Butternut Squash Puree and Beetroot Arancini for main course and finished with dessert of Assiette of chocolate,Tart,brownie and Mousse.

We found the lunch most enjoyable and would visit the Kings again when in the area

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.