We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings

Kings
The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
+44 (0)1386 840256
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We tried their steak night special, just a main meal, plus bottle of house wine, £32.00 for two - great value.

Steak was a bit hit or miss, mine being more medium than medium/rare, but my partners was perfectly cooked. Came with chips, mushrooms, and onion rings (which were excellent). Service friendly and efficient, and the place was busy (we ate in the bistro/bar area), relaxed but smart venue.

Think they missed trick by not offering a starter or sweet menu for a little extra - but can't complain about the value.

Overall worth a try if in the area and the specials are on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford Middx
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From when we booked to the last sip of coffee the service was great. Even though the restauant was full the service was good, the food hot and of a high standard.
Not cheap but good for the money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Bistro @ The Kings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate in the Bistro section of the Kings. Smart pleasantly appointed area with an attractive bar, which seemed popular. It was a Friday night so the Bistro, despite it being early, was quite busy. We opted for the Friday Night Fish and Chips, which includes a small glass of wine, a small beer or a soft drink. The wine was good quality for a house wine. Decent portion of fish in rather too much batter served with a tasty pot of pea purée. Hand cut chips which were poor, slightly under cooked inside, a touch greasy and definitely not crisp. Not rocket science these days to serve good chips, so this was disappointing hence the lower rating. Other than the chips the meal was good value for money. Service efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A cold night in Chipping Campden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently I had to travel with colleagues to an urgent meeting in Chipping Campden. Our hotel was cold and cheerless so we decided to eat at the Kings Hotel in the middle of the town. As we walked in from falling snow, we were warmly greeted and ushered smoothly into the restaurant. The menu is always interesting here and that night was no exception. After very filling starters, I opted for the cod with leek risotto and unusually a braised beef jus.This really worked extremely well. My colleagues tried the lamb which looked equally delicious. With a good bottle of wine to hand,the evening passed very quickly and by the end of the meal we were extremely mellow.
What a pity we hadn't been able to stay at the Kings in the first place. If there is a next time you can be sure we will be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
389 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and myself were visiting Chipping Campden and decided to have the lunchtime special (2 course £12.50 3 course £16.50)at The Kings in the bar section.
I had the Smoked Mackerel Pate,Smoked Salmon Rillets,Horseradish Coleslaw and Watercress for starter followed by Fillet of Salmon,Saffron Linguine and Wild Rocket and finished with Apple Frangipane Tart with Clotted Cream.
My wife started with Sauted Chicken Livers and Confit Wings,Bread Sauce and Crispy Capers then Roasted Vegetable Tian,Butternut Squash Puree and Beetroot Arancini for main course and finished with dessert of Assiette of chocolate,Tart,brownie and Mousse.

We found the lunch most enjoyable and would visit the Kings again when in the area

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.