We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huxleys

Huxleys
High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AL, England
01386 849077
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Private Dining
1 review
“A must visit!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I am normally quite fussy when it comes to where i eat and drink as places rarely live up to expectations. However after hearing many good things i HAD to try huxleys. As soon as i arrived at the quaint cafe/bar i was instantly won over by the warm and welcoming atmosphere, chic decor,style,outstanding food and presentation and service. I will most definitly be reccomending this places to everyone!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    58
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bracknell berkshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

New wine bar opened a few months ago. Great refurbishment to this once upon a time shop. The staff are all very friendly upon arrival especially the two Italian gentlemen who run it (Marco and Danny). There is a plan B lookalike behind the counter so girls take a look!!!!
Lovely open fire in one half of the place which is great to sit next to on freezing cold days enjoying your tapas and wine.
Great coffee and wine selection even though slightly ltd so far but i feel new wines will be added as time goes on.
The food is very well made and presented by Danny and Marco.
Marcos mother makes all the cakes and biscuits so great home cooking.
The prices are reasonable but hey it is a town so town prices apply!
There is an Italian style feel about the food so if you are in the area it is a must to visit.
Great place for couples and also even if your not eating there and having a meal somewhere else in the town it is great for a glass of wine before moving on.
Well done lads!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful little piece of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a great place! Atmosphere is wonderful, great to have either a coffee, which I must say is lovely and strong, or sit by the fire with a bottle of wine or sit by the window watching the world go by. Marco and Danny are wonderful hosts and make you feel at home and extremely welcome. Love this place!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting food all day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Visited with my husband and a friend on our way to an early evening event. Huxleys offered a range of interesting light meals/snacks which proved a great choice. A delightful venue, warm on a chilly May evening with great antipasta boards, melted camembert, salads etc. Very welcoming staff. Great to be able to eat early, thank you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A romantic hideaway for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely courtyard garden with running water and lovely planting. Our sharing platters and bread basket were excellent and made a substantial lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huxleys also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Huxleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huxleys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.