We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Letter Box Cottage
Letter Box Cottage
Letter Box Cottage
Sitting Room
Bedroom 1
Dining Room
Kitchen
Chipping Campden
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andrea S
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect cottage for an relaxing holiday in an idyllic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Letterbox Cottage and as soon as we got through the door we knew why we had loved our last stay so much. It is cosy, clean, well equipped and yet it retains the feeling of its history and character with the impressive Ingle Nook fireplace, stone floors and original features. The cottage is situated in a beautiful backwater within a few minutes drive of Chipping Campden and Broadway.The garden is gorgeous and was just coming to life in the spring sunshine while we were there. Julia is very welcoming and let us know that we only had to ask if we needed anything. What more can we say? We love staying at Letterbox Cottage and look forward to our next escape to the Cotwolds!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
travrainb...
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying in this delightful stone cottage in the Cotswolds . We are a family of four and it catered for all our needs. Great kitchen, warm central heating and fireplace, gorgeous to look at with the only thatched roof in the village. The duvets were the best I have ever seen.
Great location being in a tiny rural village, only 3 miles away from two other gorgeous village with pubs serving meals in real country ambience. Also travelled to Stratford to become more acquainted with Shakespear and to Warwick to check out its lovely restored castle. Absolutely loved our stay Julia, thank you very much for helping us enjoy our stay in England.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The look of the place, its cozyness and its location in a small village
Liked least: No wifi or internet access
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Carolyn Y
Beachmere QLD Australia
1 review
“Cosy, quaint & quiet - Exactly the experience we were looking for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What can I say, this cottage was just divine. Homely, rustic, serene and comfortable. My Dad and I had a beautiful time at Letterbox Cottage, from the comfy beds to the apple laden trees and the quiet picturesque hamlet where I could buy fresh eggs from the farm just up the road ,delicious muffins from the cottage down the street and flavoursome vegetables from just next door. It was pure bliss to wake up in the morning to natures alarm clock then go for a stroll through the gorgeous countryside. Cannot thank Julia enough for her hospitality and friendliness.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Christoph...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful clean. spacious cottage & a fantastic location for exploring the Cotswolds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Letter Box Cottage is in a wonderful location for exploring the Cotswolds. It's not to far to the main town of Chipping Campden & Hidcote Boyce Mannor is worth the trip across the fields. As we had travelled from Australia the village is something that we wanted to experience & it did not disappoint. Charming & quiet. The cottage was warm, very clean & comfortable. The bed is amazing & we loved the cottagie feel Letter Box gave us. Exactly what we wanted. We posted letters from the letter box attached to the cottage. Plenty of pubs within a short driving distance. We would have no hesitation in returning. Julia is the perfect host.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cleanliness & location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
123alison
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Letter Box Cottage is a charming, quaint, English Country cottage with a lovely cottage garden. If you are looking for a peaceful haven to escape to then you could do no better than to visit Letter Box Cottage.

The cottage was spotlessly clean with every amenity that you would wish for in a beautiful location with plenty of walks and places to visit.

I would thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The cottage and location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
galiano
British Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Letterbox Cottage is a lovely character cottage in a quiet countryside setting about ten minutes from Chipping Campden. It's in an excellent location for touring the Cotswolds and is within walking distance of Hidcote and Kiftsgate Gardens.

The Cottage has comfortable beds and good linens.
With all these positives come a number of unfortunate negatives.
There is a washing machine but no drier. How then to dry things like towels when there is provided only one bath towel, and one hand towel per person for a weeks stay ? There just aren't enough linens provided.

A photo on the website shows the fireplace lit but guests are asked not to use it. Is it available for use in the winter ? If not, it should not show on the website.

There is no wifi hence no email, no Internet information about local towns, unable to view guidebooks which we use instead of carrying heavy books, we could not email for restaurant reservations or check flight information. Wifi is inexpensive to install and is available free now days in even the most basic accommodation. People on holiday expect wifi to be available.

The cottage lacks up to date information or brochures on local attractions, where to eat, best pubs etc.

There are no chairs or table on the patio. We had a few warm, sunny days and would have liked to sit outside.

The living room furniture is really tired and needs replacing. It did not feel very clean.

The Cottage web page mentions how lovely the garden is.. Sadly it's a disaster. It's totally uncared for and overgrown. It should not be mentioned on the website as it makes a bad situation worse. It's a neglected garden, not a showpiece.

With a bit of attention Letterbox Cottage could make for an ideal Cotswold visit. We have thought carefully about this review and concluded there are just too many oversights for us to recommend a stay here.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Owner seems not to care about looking after the cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2013
It was with sadness I read your comments after meeting you when you arrived early as I was finishing off the cleaning on 3 May 2013. A request for the patio furniture to be put out in the garden, as the weather had unexpectedly turned warm that weekend, would have been met. I left Letter Box Cottage making sure you understood how the heating worked, explaining that I lived half a mile away and my telephone number was available if there was anything else you needed.

It is customary to supply one bath and one hand towel per guest. There is a washing line for outside drying, a clothes airer and also a towel rail above the bathroom radiator.

I did not lay the fire as the weather was warm at the time. However there is a fire in the living room which guests are welcome to use, so I do not understand your comments.

Good point - I will look into installing wi-fi – I do not offer this in the property’s description.

Brochures are available and are placed on the bottom shelf of the coffee table. The area has a good reputation for food in both pubs and restaurants, and as I meet guests my opinion on where to eat can always be asked.

All soft furnishings in the Living Room had been cleaned prior to the first spring booking including the Designer Guild cushions. The Victorian furniture is antique. There is a plasma TV and DVD.

The garden has suffered. 2012 saw non-stop rain followed by a very cold spring in 2013. In this area the plants are 2 months behind where they should be. My gardener had pruned shrubs and the espalier apple trees in the winter. There have been casualties – the wedding cake tree will need to be replaced as will some of the other shrubs and the espalier apple trees have hardly put on any growth. As to the garden being overgrown this is wildly inaccurate. Nearly one month on, the garden is starting to recover – I think it is unlikely to have a great show of roses in June. Together with my gardener, we are trying to keep the essence of a 50’s cottage garden rather than flatten and cover it with paving and shaped potted trees – although this would be much easier to maintain.

The American actress Andie McDowell and her family visited Letter Box Cottage for 3 weeks in June and had a great family time. In fact, she so loved the quaintness of the cottage that she returned later that year to show a friend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tad02
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The Cotswolds experience we were looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Letterbox Cottage is just as adorable as it looks in the photos. The village is picturesque and the surrounding countryside is really lovely. In 15 minutes, you can walk out the door, up the street and over the fields to Hidcote Manor and Garden. Eggs can be bought from the street-side stand a few houses away. It takes only a few minutes to drive to Chipping Campden which, along with Broadway, were our favourite market towns. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very cozy. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves here.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The cottage, village and countryside experience.
Liked least: No Internet access (but no big deal).
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$111
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Julia J
44 1386438706
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2012
Response Rate: 60 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 20 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing