We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“umpredictable and unsatisfactory booking system” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lower High St, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bedford, Pennsylvania
1 review
“umpredictable and unsatisfactory booking system”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have booked a room in the hotel in the evening, they asked for the credit card details and said that in this way the room was reserved. Then the day after called them to make the full payment and they told me they tried to call many times as the room was gone by somebody that booked online. Their booking system is not efficient! Very frustrating!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are sorry that our booking system was not to your liking - and take your comments on board. We have now had our automated booking system updated and can now check all bookings being made via the telephone against the automated system - therefore no delay is made before updating the paper system. This will now limit the chance of rooms being funavailable before the paper system is updated against the on line system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
53
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

After a tour of the Cotswolds for our 20th wedding anniversary we stopped of at the village chipping campden where we stayed at the red lion inn. The owners and staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The themed rooms were very comfortable,clean and well equipped. The food was very good value for money and all home cooked. The Red Lion Inn is unspoilt with many original features and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The four poster room is very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a perfect Inn for a 25th Wedding anniversary. The Olde World features can been seen in all area's of the Inn, bar, restaurant and bedrooms. We had the 4 poster room and the features were amazing, original oak beams everywhere.Tracey and her staff could not have been more helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Spotlessly clean, and we stopped for 3 nights, and we had fresh clean towels every day. The breakfast is perfect, even to the point of picking your own time to eat. The menu is comprehensive, and has a good variation. We ate in the Inn all 3 nights, and all meals were hot and served promptly. Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anybody. On our 25th anniversary, Tracey presented us with a bottle of champagne, what a lovely gesture.

Room Tip: All rooms away from Inn, so no noise carryover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We would like to thank you for your very positive comments and glad you enjoyed your stay in our 4 poster room - we are glad you enjoyed the food we provide, as we try to offer good value home cooked meals. We hope you had a good 25th Anniversary and enjoyed the Champagne. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here last Oct. 2012 and we loved it. It was everything I wanted and hoped for. The Inn was on the main street in town and you could walk anywhere from there. The rooms were comfortable and clean. If you want more modern then please think of staying somewhere else. We enjoyed our breakfast and ate dinner there a couple of nights. The owners were extremely nice and most helpful. We also enjoyed talking to the parrot. He could be quite a talker. One morning we woke up to a horse being ridden in the street with the clop clop sounds of his hooves. Another time we saw an older couple driving a very old car in town. Would not hesitate to stay here again. History oozes all around you in this Inn and town. ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We chose the Red Lion because its menu was more appealing and more reasonably priced than the many other pubs and restaurants in town. And unlike Sean T (13/8/13), we thoroughly enjoyed our meal - lamb shanks and chef's pie of the day (steak and onions). Both meals were tasty, hot and served with fresh vegetables. Also unlike Sean, we had very pleasant and attentive service. But like Sean we too waited a long time after our order - 50 minutes in fact - which was rather hard to understand given our choice of meals, which you might expect would have only required 'finishing' rather than preparation from scratch. All in all though, worth the wait.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay. We were going to a wedding at gardens nearby, and the staff just did everything possible to make our stay wonderful. The cheese plate dinner was amazing, and they served us even though we showed up just at closing. They helped us book taxis (great service!). Just wish we would have had more time to enjoy the beautiful beer garden. Our room was just wonderful too -- so much history and character.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Second time of staying at this lovely cosy Inn. Tracey, the owner, together with all of her staff are extremely welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. I love the fact that the accommodation is away from the main part of the Inn, makes for a quieter stay. The accommodation itself is very quirky, clean and comfortable .. it is also extremely useful that breakfast is served at a time of your choosing. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this quaint establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Lower High St, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Chipping Campden
Red Lion Chipping Campden
Chipping Campden Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.