We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly oldie worldie hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lower High St, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Woodbridge Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly oldie worldie hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lovely friendly oldie worldie hotel with great food. Met the owners in the street, who made a great fuss of our Brown Newfoundland dog Dusty. We went in for dinner that night and had a lamp shank, which was excellent. Loved the African Grey parrot upstairs who kept us amused all night with his impressions of the dog barking etc. They made us all very welcome including Dusty who enjoyed the sausage sent out from the kitchen for her. Lovely night out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments - we are glad you decided to come and make a visit after meeting in the street. We pride ourselves on being a family and pet friendly establishment and are glad we could be of service. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
53
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights very recently and were very happy with our stay. The place is one of the oldest inns in the town and as such you have to expect there to be creaking floors and old rattle windows, which really doesn't detract from the character of the place and rather adds to it. The rooms had been nicely decorated and although the furniture was a bit tired a lot of effort had been made to ensure that the rooms were cosy, warm and had some nice touches, eg tea making facilities and bottled water at no extra cost. Yes, you can hear other people moving about in the rooms above and the plumbing does make a noise but it didn't stop us from sleeping at all. The Red Lion is on the high st so expect a bit of road noise but it's hardly the M4 outside so it's really no problem. The food was pretty good for the price and we were more than happy to fill in our breakfast request the night before. The owners and staff are really friendly and this aspect of any trip away from home is always the most important for us. Our Jack Russell was allowed to stay and she was made to feel very welcome, which included treats at the bar and a sausage for breakfast. The owners are working hard to bring the place up to a high standard but it is certainly more than comfortable and good value for money, so we would gladly recommend. It isn't 5 star but then you'd be paying a lot more if it was!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments following your stay with us. We appreciate your understanding that you are staying in a listed building - and the fact that you appreciate the effort made to make your stay enjoyable. You also commented on our work programme - this is our first year here and we are working slowly to upgrade and update all facilities available to our customers. However while doing this, we aim to give a positive and comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

i recently stayed at the red lion for 4 nights as part of a business trip / course. tracey and sam were absolutley brilliant and made us feel very welcome and at ease. Nothing was too much trouble and their friendliness made the week away from home go really quickly. The room was warm and comfortable and the whole place oozed character. We ate in the pub every night - the food was excellent and well priced.i would defintely stay here again - for business or leisure!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I simply loved this old hotel. It was everything I expected of being in Chipping Campden. Big, clean room and easy parking. The dinner was simply fabulous--the best I had on my 3 week trip of England! Lovely hosts and a warm and friendly staff. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

To start with I'd like to say a few words about the "not so good" reviews this place has had. It is a 16th century, listed building, oozing with character and original features. As such, one has to except the limitations in areas like sound-proofing and double glazing. I you want those things you should probably stay in a (grimace!) Travel Lodge etc etc. The Red Lion Inn is a real taste of the Cotswolds and you will struggle to find anywhere with a more accommodating, warm reception.

My wife, our two best friends and I found The Red Lion Inn on an Internet search of "wheelchair friendly" hotels on the Cotswolds. Based on the reviews, the price and the Hotel owner, Tina being so helpful in advising us on the facilities for the disabled we bit the bullet.

From beginning to end we had a fantastic time and have absolutely no complaints. The rooms were comfortable, the staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent.

We'll defiantly be going back again.

Alan and Co

Room Tip: For disabled travellers there is a lovely, well equipped room on the ground floor. Book early to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I would like to say thank you for your positive comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been at The Red Lion 8 months and are trying to update and improve areas as quickly as we can. We do pride ourselves on our home cooked food, which is supplied by local farms and butchers. We hope to see you again in the future.

Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent two nights there last week, Chipping Campden is a charming village and the Red Lion is an excellent pub, very pretty, we had a lovely room with lovely touches in, very comfortable, the staff were friendly and very helpful, we had a superb breakfast both morning, I would definitively staff there again and would recommend to anyone, we had a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and found the breakfasts fantastic. We aim to please our customers in every way we can. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Tracy and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a 2 night stay in the 4 poster room. Arrived after 10pm first night and there was no food available, I guess this is because the village is small and everyone had eaten by then.

The bed was very comfortable but the room needs updating. I understand that the present owners have had it for 6 months or so and are in the process of updating it.

One point to make was that you had to put your breakfast order in the night before!.

Enjoyed the stay there and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Lower High St, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Chipping Campden
Red Lion Chipping Campden
Chipping Campden Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.