We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Inn to your Saves list
Red Lion Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Lower High St, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent two nights there last week, Chipping Campden is a charming village and the Red Lion is an excellent pub, very pretty, we had a lovely room with lovely touches in, very comfortable, the staff were friendly and very helpful, we had a superb breakfast both morning, I would definitively staff there again and would recommend to anyone, we had a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and found the breakfasts fantastic. We aim to please our customers in every way we can. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Tracy and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
59
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a 2 night stay in the 4 poster room. Arrived after 10pm first night and there was no food available, I guess this is because the village is small and everyone had eaten by then.

The bed was very comfortable but the room needs updating. I understand that the present owners have had it for 6 months or so and are in the process of updating it.

One point to make was that you had to put your breakfast order in the night before!.

Enjoyed the stay there and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights late August. Sam and staff made our stay so special and by the time we left, we felt like family. SAMs hubby, sweet daughter, sisters went above n beyond to make us happy. Even grandparents were there and welcomed us. Food, wine were super. Accommodations cozy and prices very fair. We loved every minute

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hello, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come again in the future.

Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights end July / August. Overall a very nice experience and convenient for what we wanted to do. The home made burgers were outstanding - so tasty - that I had both nights. Was also dog frirndly - important for us as travelling with our dog - both for bar eating and sleeping.

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 different rooms and both were ok. Was also dog friendly both for the bar eating and room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hello

We are glad you enjoyed our pet friendly accommodation - we aim to offer a service that us not always available. We would like to thank you for your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed the night at the red lion,went in a party of nine and we all had good rooms for the night...the rooms were clean but the decor needs a little tlc..we had an evening meal there and I did.nt feel we had good value..ten pounds for a burger and chips is three pounds over the top... I had the steak for fifteen pounds and felt that was about four pounds to much..but I must say the breakfast with endless cups of tea was first class..would stay at the red lion again but would seek an evening meal at another pub.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments - we hope your overall experience was a good one. We have been her for 6 months and have a programme of work to update the letting rooms, which we are working through. Our food is priced competitively for the area - with prices lower than most of the other venues in town - we offer good sized, value for money meals and am sorry that you feel these were over priced. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and hope the service was helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reigate
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

stayed just one night - lovely old pub, well thought out with pool room and sky sports in a separate part of the building.
Stayed in one of the small rooms in the cottage, room very clean and basic. Furniture is a bit tatty and can hear when someone turns taps on etc somewhere else in the cottage.
But to put this in perspective - we paid £85 for two, a good breakfast and friendly staff : the previous night we had paid twice that somewhere else for half the service & value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments - we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. We are in the process of updating the bedrooms with a planned programme of works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Lower High St, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Chipping Campden
Red Lion Chipping Campden
Chipping Campden Red Lion
Red Lion Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.