We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the great views of britain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walk to Broadway Tower

Walk to Broadway Tower
Chipping Campden, England
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“one of the great views of britain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Started to walk to the tower from Broadway but defeated by the very, very muddy terrain. Therefore drove up to the country park and did a circular walk passing the tower and following the Cotswold trail for about two miles before doubling back. Had coffee at the very pleasant, if a little pricey, country park cafe but the views all around over the game of Evesham rival anything this fine country has to offer. We were blessed with wonderful autumn weather. A must visit

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We started off in the charming village of Broadway and made our way past the massive children's playground and up the sheep-strewn hills to Broadway Tower. Fortunately, the sun shone and the breeze cooled, making our 3 hour walk so very, very enjoyable. Our hiking sticks were useful on the uphills!

The views from just below the tower were magnificent, and with sunshine making the hills gleam .. well, we were very happy indeed.

Do make time to pop in to the restaurant and shop at Broadway Tower. Easy access by car from the A44, too. Excellent quality goods for sale, and a lovely atmosphere. We enjoyed our picnic at an outside table overlooking the valley. Just lovely!

And do make time to browse through the shops in the village of Broadway. We loved the organic deli where we bought our picnic lunch, and the art exhibition at Richard Hagen's gallery, at one end of the High Street, was outstanding!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We parked in Broadway and then proceeded to walk up to the Tower.Its quite a tough walk as its all uphill through fields of livestock. On arriving at the Tower we were a little dissappointed as it was a little hazy which spoilt the view somewhat. Obviously the walk back is a lot easier as its all downhill. All told a nice 5 mile walk followed by a coffee in the stunning village of Broadway. In the afternoon we drove back up to the Tower as the sun was shining. You can see for absolutely miles on a clear day

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely walk with great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We took a roundabout way up-- not as well marked and we got lost very briefly. Then back on the public footpath through fields and along small roads (including through a field with a bull!), to a tea house. After stopping there for lunch, we continued a short distance to the tower. Wonderful views, and the tower makes a nice destination to walk to. Our daughter loved climbing to the top of the tower. We took the Cotswolds Way straight downhill back to Broadway. One of our favorite days in England!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Visit......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

.....to Broadway Tower. Walking up from Broadway is quite a climb, but worth the views, however if you can't manage the walk you can drive up. We went up the tower and also down the bunker, which is only open certain days.

There is a very good restaurant and gift shop on the site, which is also worth a visit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walk to Broadway Tower also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Bibury, Cotswolds
 
Cotswolds, Gloucestershire
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Walk to Broadway Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walk to Broadway Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.