We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good simple English pub food & beer. Tourist & local friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakers Arms

The Bakers Arms
Broad Campden, Chipping Campden GL55 6UR, England
01386 840515
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Bakers Arms is a traditional Cotswold Country Pub situated in the picturesque village of Broad Campden only 1 mile from Chipping Campden in Gloucestershire serving real ale and good food.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good simple English pub food & beer. Tourist & local friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

Visited for a Sunday lunch, first time since the change of ownership a number of years ago. Two of us had roast, one vegetarian risotto, one gammon, egg n chips & one salmon. Very filling food, except for the fish which could have been a little bigger. The waitresses serving are young, helpful, friendly, but a little vague. Beer was good. Very friendly, relaxed pub - we will be back again. Still the same great walkers / MTB pub.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

Visited on a very busy Sunday lunchtime with family. The Place was fully booked so recommend booking as we did.

Three of us had the beef and one had the lamb. Meat and veg were all really well cooked. In particular we were treated to sprout flowers which were delicious.

The deserts of spiced apple crumble were also really good.

Good service and atmosphere made this s great visit. Also if you have a furry friend then please take them as they are dog friendly.

Definitely recommended this lovely pub.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We walked for 2 hours to reach this lovely cotswold pub so the roast was really appreciated, delicious, rare, tender beef with all the trimmings plus a boozy bread & butter pudding to follow, yummy! We deserved it! Waitresses & staff were friendly too.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“Charming spot just outside of Chipping Campden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

The Bakers Arms gave us an excuse to take a country walk from Chipping Campden to the lovely, small village of Broad Campden. It's a lovely pub (though will admit that the walking was a bit perilous in parts, with no clear paths that I could see between towns that didn't involve some stretches along curving country roads), still, fun.

There's a smallish pub dining area, and another dining room, and on this Tuesday afternoon in October it was pretty darn busy. Food was good -- best chips I've ever had, just the right kind of crispy on the outside and molten mushy on the inside :)

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A Great Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We ate at this 16th century pub when we stayed in Broad Campden and couldn't have been happier with the ambiance, the local beer, and the food. You could tell this was a neighborhood pub, cozy and inviting, and we felt welcomed the moment we walked in. The food was exceptional: potato/leek soup, goat cheese tart, haddock, and a lemon tart for dessert.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakers Arms also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Bakers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.