We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Character...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eight Bells Inn

Eight Bells Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eight Bells Inn to your Saves list
Eight Bells Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Church Street, Chipping Campden, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Has Character...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our room was tucked in the back which was partly underground, it did seem a bit damp. It was clean enough, but could have been better. We did eat in the pub which was good food. As for the price, everything just seemed to be pricey in Europe so I don't know if it was considered more than average. The service was good and friendly, the breakfast was delicious. The building does have character and the location was very good with parking on the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    24
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
47
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have just returned from a short break at the Eight Bells Inn. We were a little disappointed and felt that that the rooms were overpriced. We had expected so much more from the website's description.
Granted, the building is very old, and that places restrictions on what can be done, but our room was a a bit tired. I could forgive the electric shower being a bit under pressured, but there is no excuse for the poor quality lumpy pillows and mattress with very little support. Most hotels have invested in high end quality beds and bedding these days. We didn't get a good night's sleep whilst we were there. The hospitality tray left a lot to be desired also. Bog standard tea bags and cheap custard creams. Not very inviting!
Our room was described as overlooking the cobbled courtyard. Sounded really nice, but in fact we were overlooking the kitchen, across the courtyard, which had some sort of industrial sounding generator/fan which went on and off constantly. Again not very conducive to a good night's sleep.
True, the inn was off the main street, as accurately described on the website, but it didn't mention that there is a constant stream of traffic from the one way system. A little misleading.
Breakfast was of a reasonable standard, but could have been so much better!! A carafe of orange juice at the table was a nice touch, but I would have liked some fresh fruit available also. I know that half a grapefruit is available ( very 70's) but there are some people who are unable to eat grapefruit due to their medication. Cereals were in small cartons with very little choice. Muesli would have been nice.
We ate at the Eight Bells on our first night. The food was good, apart from the chips, which looked unappetising as they were practically anaemic!
The staff were all very friendly, but young. There didn't seem to be anyone in charge. There was a lady who turned up at about 9 o'clock, who we assumed was probably the owner, but as she didn't introduce herself, or ask if everything was ok, we shall never know.
It wasn't a bad stay, but so any little touches were missing, and at £125 per room per night, it should be better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed for four nights at the end of May during the monsoon season! Room was nice enough but a little worn around the edges in places. Breakfast was fine and staff were pleasant enough. We think the menu for lunch and dinner was overpriced for what you got, and it would have been nice to have had some variety - even the specials stayed the same for the duration of our stay.

In addition, there is no designated parking for residents so it's a matter of luck as to whether you get a parking spot outside on the road.

Room Tip: Beware - walls are very thin. If staying in room 1 you can hear everything (and I mean everything) t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Absolute gem of a pub just a block or so off High Street. The low beams, wonderful history, along with good food and wonderfully served ales make this well worth a stop over many of the options in town. Just had lunch there so cannot speak to the rooms or inn itself, just the pub.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were staying in Chipping Camden for a few nights and chose to eat away from our hotel and really pleased we did. It was a Monday evening and the Inn was buzzing. Just as well that we had reserved a table !! The service was really good all evening and we both thoroughly enjoyed our 3 course meal .. and the atmosphere was much better than our hotel that was very nice but had a restaurant that was a bit souless.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled across this little gem after finding most other places were closed for food on the high street on a wet cold Thursday night and were just amazed! The staff were fantastic - very accommodating even though they were really busy. The atmosphere was great, the pub is cosy, sheek, quaint and subtly upmarket, and the food was out of this world! Cannot fault the place - I just wish I was a local so I could keep going back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Disappointed! The inn itself is lovely, olde world and very cosy. We arrived on a wet afternoon and the bar area was inviting although almost empty. Staff were pleasant and offered assistance but didn't seem genuine. The rooms were very disappointing and not what we had envisaged. We booked two rooms expecting them to be under one roof. Unfortunately one was out the back up some stairs from the main building. Decor was trying hard to be funky but sadly missed the point. Would have been better to have remained old and traditional. Rooms were clean and tidy. Both beds were uncomfortable. Water pressure in the showers was dismal. Food was good. Breakfast more than sufficient and the waitress was very friendly and genuine. The village reputation sets the price for what you get here, not good value for money for my mind.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eight Bells Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Bells Inn

Address: Church Street, Chipping Campden, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Eight Bells Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Bells Inn Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eight Bells Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.